The Final Push - New England September Sojourn - CycleBlaze

September 20, 2021

The Final Push

Heart 0 Comment 0

We had a huge breakfast at Munroe’s in Twin Mountain. I geared up and Honeybunch drove me back to the Israel River Campground. The journey started off a mix of road, rail trail and dirt road. The dirt farm road opened up the view.

Heart 0 Comment 0

It ran parallel to the rail trail. The GPS router put me back on the rail trail and after crossing a road. Like Vermont, it felt as if I was riding downhill for miles. Unfortunately the coaster ended. The next challenge was an undulating, potholed, muddy, dirt road. A thinner-tired bike would have had a rough time. It wasn’t that hard, just more difficult than any other part of the two state trails.

   The last 20 miles of the trail were on a paved secondary road, with rolling hills. I was tired, it was tough.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Toward the end of the ride in Maine, I caught up to Matt Stevens who is doing a North East Loop. With company, the last few miles went by quickly. In Bethel, Maine, Matt went in search of a hotel and I went to Davis Park to meet Mrs. Brown and end this portion of the trip.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 202 miles (325 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0