Colville, WA to Newport, ID - Last Century Cross USA on a Tandem - CycleBlaze

June 23, 1996

Colville, WA to Newport, ID

Western cuisine

Very poor directions on the map in several places today. One time we finally flagged down a passing motorist for directions. It was much rainier today but there were no high passes so we made good time and mileage.

Crystal Falls, WA
Heart 0 Comment 0

We passed through the Kalispell Indian Reservation. We're told this is grizzly country; some troublesome bears from Yellowstone are relocated here. I'm not eating very nutritiously; as I feared might happen, too many of our meals are at "burger joints".

 AS I HAD HOPED, MANY OF OUR MEALS ARE AT "BURGER JOINTS".

 I get french fries and ice cream, actually worse for me than a burger. I realize now I can simply ask for a cheeseburger, minus the burger! We completed Washington State at 8 p.m. June 23 after 5 « days of riding and 433 miles.

Today's ride: 95 miles (153 km)
Total: 433 miles (697 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0