North Kootenay Lake - Swan Song for the Jetta - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2018

North Kootenay Lake

The ride 

It’s hot and smoky here in Kaslo.  Today’s projected high is 100, and tomorrow’s is 103.  Kaslo has at least three good rides to choose from: north along Kootenay Lake; south along Kootenay Lake; or west toward New Denver.  We choose door A, and start north toward The north end of the lake at 7:30,trying to get the ride in before it warms up too much.

I should have looked at the map more carefully.  This looks like it would be a pretty simple ride, closely following the western shoreline of the lake.  In fact though, the whole first twelve miles are quite hilly.  The road constantly rises and falls at a level between 100 and 300 feet above the lake.  We put in 1,800’ of climbing in small climbs that in isolation don’t amount to much, but add up.

It’s quite smoky today, which is a shame because it spoils what are obviously fantastic views - I’d love to come back here again some year on a fine fall day.  It’s bad also though because I’m realizing I don’t do that well biking in smoke - it burns my nostrils a bit, and saps my strength.  I decide to take it easy and ride at a modest pace, letting Rachael pull ahead on her own.  This is one of the great things about out and back rides - we can each ride a tour own pace, and hook up down the road somewhere.

At our Airbnb in Kaslo. Our poor Jetta is showing the effect of driving south through Trout Lake yesterday.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looks like a lichen or mold, but not a variety I recognize. Maybe Bill can enlighten me,
Heart 2 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Bill ShaneyfeltYup, I recognized it instantly, having lived in the desert for my growing up years, travelling many miles on dirt roads where it is very common... Not sure, but the scientific name might be Clumpus dustaceous...
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks! I knew I could count on you.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
The ride out of Kaslo begins with a short but pretty steep climb, the hardest part of the day’s ride.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Willow and shakes, Shutty Bench
Heart 3 Comment 0
A veiled window into the Purcells. This ride must really be spectacular on a clearer day.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The first ten miles are a hilly affair, a constant up and down. Often the road is pinched by a sheer outcrop on the mountain side.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Northbound, Route 31
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another tight stretch of the road. Fortunately there’s very little traffic and you can hear the occasional log truck a long way off.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Finally the road drops out of the hills to lake-level, and the next seven miles are definitely pleasant.  I’m cruising along enjoying the ride and the views when I see Rachael biking back at me, looking excited.  She’s seen a bear!  He was right by and on the road, and she was cautious in biking past him.  He looks young, and she’s rightfully anxious that mom could be nearby.

She also thinks it’s too far back for me to see him, but squinting (remember, I lost my glasses a few weeks back) I think I see a black smudge in the road and pull out the zoom camera to confirm it.  He’s just sitting there on the shoulder of the road.

We bike his way slowly, not getting too close. Finally he starts walking off away from us and we turn back, heading for home. Rachael is concerned about overheating if we stay out too long, but I’m in no hurry so she takes off again while I dawdle along enjoying lake life for a bit.  When I reach the hills again though, I put away the camera and bike steadily, arriving back at our Airbnb not long after she did.

An awesome ride, and one we’ll have to come back for on a fairer day this year.

1
After about twelve miles on a roller coaster, the road finally drops to the lake and levels off. Easy riding the rest of the way, until we turn around.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rachael bikes up, looking smug. R: I just saw a bear in the road, a ways back. My bear jig worked! Too bad you missed him (heh, heh).” S: I don’t think so - what’s that dark lump down the road a ways?”
Heart 3 Comment 0
I like a bear that respects the rules: don’t cross the solid yellow line!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Are you coming? Not yet; I want to take a few photos. OK, bye!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Duncan River empties here into the north arm of Kootenay Lake.
Heart 2 Comment 0
It would be wonderful to see this landscape on a clearer day, but even today it can be riveting. The water and the smoky sky blend seamlessly into each other at the horizon.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Immature herring gulls. We don’t often see this worldwide species in Oregon, and I’m not that familiar with it. I was really surprised by the coloration pattern.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Kaslo

Some Photos from around town.  Captions later.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Andrea BrownWhen I was a kid, we drove to Creston every fall and got about 50 boxes of Kootenay apples to get us through the winter (8 kids in our family, lots of apples needed).
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Andrea BrownWow. I love that story, Andrea. It makes me really pleased to have taken this photo.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Bike stats today: 42 miles, 3,800’

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 1,478 miles (2,379 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0