October 14th - Taiwan Lockdown - CycleBlaze

October 14th

 The DIY lighting project is nearing completion. We just need the lights.  Debbie ordered one cheap  LED spot online from a business not far away, but delivery takes a week. I could  walkd there and back in that time. If it's not a piece of crap, she'll order a dozen more. 

 I've decided to have another stainless steel bracket made - one that's slightly different - that will guide the elec' cable from the ceiling into the suspended track. I've made a full-scale drawing and taken photos of the track to help explain what I want to the same metal fab people. 

 There are various coffee options on the way there - I'm cycling right through town - and opt for a place that has very nice cake. It's closest to home and next to the university, but hidden down a network of narrow passages.  Its name escapes me and is likely just a Chinese one. It's an old, single-floor building.

Cafe down a passage near the university
Heart 1 Comment 0
Blueberry and chocolate tart
Heart 2 Comment 0

 There's only me today and the woman serving says it's been a while since she saw me. It was likely before I flew to the UK in April. She probably doesn't get any foreign customers - I did bring g a while ago, but it was closed. They only open a few days a week.

 She shows me photos on Instagram of the cakes available and I choose one that looks like a tart topped with bueberries. She says it's got chocolate under them, so I've hit the jackpot. There's a bench seat by the wndow and that's where I sit and read a bit of a Mick Herron novel before heading off to the metal fab' place. It's about another 10 minutes' ride away.

 Every time I head to the cafe I get discombobulated and today is no different. It's a case of doubling back to find the exit to the street, then getting on the familiar busy roads and speeding along with the flow of scooters and cars.

It's a warren
Heart 1 Comment 0

 The woman in the fab place is friendly, but she clearly doesn't have a very good grasp of technical drawing. I show her my full-scale isometric together with the actual bracket that they made me last week - the new one is simply a bit longer. She just can't work it out and it takes a while before she understands my requirements and says it'll cost NT$300 - which is about US$10. Hopefully it doesn't get made wrong. She says it'll be done early next week.

 I need to get some UK £s to send to my daughter and the bank is across the small river that flows through the centre of town and involves another 10 minutes of cycling along  busy city streets. After getting that sorted, I pop to the post office and send it registered. Yes, it's a risk, but so far so good.

 Debbie had her birthday on Wednesday and liked the bracelets that I put together, but I didn't buy her any flowers. A couple of local florists have closed, so it's a case of calling in at Carrefour near home.  Their selection isn't great, but it's better late than nothing. It just seems odd that there are Christmas trees on display already.  

'No Style' in Carrefour
Heart 0 Comment 0
Christmas is coming
Heart 0 Comment 4
Suzanne GibsonWe had Christmas cookies in our local Edeka on September 1!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Graham FinchTo Suzanne GibsonWow..
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Graham FinchTo Suzanne GibsonDid you buy any?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonNo - in protest! lol
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Steps in Carrefour
Heart 2 Comment 0
Back home with some flowers for Debbie
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 km (6 miles)
Total: 1,845 km (1,146 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0