December 18th - Taiwan Lockdown - CycleBlaze

December 18, 2021

December 18th

no work

There's a referendum being held here today, with four issues on the ballot, including the future of an unfinished nuclear power plant and whether to end imports of US pork that contains ractopamine. 

I'm not eligible to vote and it turns out I can't teach either, as my employer has opted to cancel all classes today, which strikes me as just a weak excuse not to have to pay me and the others who work there.

What it means is Debbie and myself have a bit more free time, but the problem is the weather has turned wet and windy, so cycling far doesn't seem like a good idea. 

As it approaches noon, we decide to simply head out for lunch to a nearby noodle joint - a place we've cycled passed many times, but which has usually been closed. 

For Scott
Heart 4 Comment 2
Scott AndersonNice that you found one with a doorbell with a matched tilt.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham FinchYes... I guess it's just a doorbell!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
ditto
Heart 4 Comment 2
Scott AndersonAre you sure? This looks like a window in a pillbox.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham FinchThe paint is thick... it's a roller door.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

There's about half a dozen tables in the restaurant, in an area a bit bigger than a parking space, but not much. Passengers would get out before the car entered. There's one wall decorated with old photos plus a few old knickknacks from a bygone era. What isn't so good is the smell. They're cooking bamboo.

Most foreigners will tell you it's stinky tofu that gets right up their nose, but for me bamboo is the worst. Maybe it's because stinky tofu is usually sold at street stalls and the smell dissipates quickly, whereas bamboo is a restaurant dish which permeates the whole place. To me it's like a combination of dirty washing and a hot donkey. It's literally nauseating. 

As I'm not hungry, I opt to get out after a minute and leave Debbie to dine alone. There are a few side streets I can't recall exploring and that's where I stroll for 10 minutes or so.  There are a couple of mail slots - or letter boxes - plus a window of an abandoned house that I snap.

Window
Heart 4 Comment 0

Debbie says the noodles were OK and we ride along a few small streets but do not see anything worth stopping for save a child's chair in front of a gate. The sun is hidden, so lighting is poor.

We get lost - well, I do - and we eventually skirt under the railway and make our way to Louisa for coffees. It's pretty busy again with students doing assignments and we sit outside.

While sat there I notice how my flat pedal has scratched my right shoe as I spin it up to the right position before setting off. I usually wear Crocs, but reckon they must have similar marks, albeit not as visible as these leather shoes. They need a good polish.

Chair
Heart 4 Comment 0
Louisa Coffee
Heart 2 Comment 0
My right foot
Heart 2 Comment 0

We make our way home via a mantou place that's just a few minutes from where we live and Debbie buys a couple of different types. The shop also sells boazi, which are similar looking dumplings, but which that come with a variety of veg and meat fillings. They're not my cup of tea. 

A side street is one we've never explored, so we ride to the end and find an old house I've seen the front of when riding along the main road. It looks neglected and some of the roof has collapsed. 

The lane is a dead-end, so after I've snapped a wooden gate of a nearby home, we head back. 

The news reports that the four things in the referendum have all been voted against, so the old but incomplete nuclear power plant is destined to be an expensive white elephant.

Baozi
Heart 1 Comment 0
Debbie's buying some mantou
Heart 1 Comment 0
Door
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 7 km (4 miles)
Total: 1,066 km (662 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Scott AndersonThis post makes me rueful about my anosmia. Hot donkey!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham FinchIs that Covid related?

Did you try or get to smell stinky tofu here?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Graham FinchNo, not Covid thankfully. As far as I can remember I’ve never had a sense of smell (or taste either, which I didn’t finally realize until years later). I believe it’s a congenital defect.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Eva WaltersI like your vignettes, and was interested to read that you've lived in Taiwan for 22 years. Do you speak Chinese, or can you get along reasonably well in English?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham FinchTo Eva WaltersHi, Eva

My Chinese is abysmal, considering I've been here so long.

When I first arrived, I thought it wouldn't be too hard to learn, but the tones made it very frustrating and I simply gave up. My wife helps with all the official stuff and at work I certainly don't need it. Out on the street it would obviously be useful, but I get by. Most young people know some English.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham FinchTo Scott AndersonWow... does that all beer tastes the same - of nothing?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonThat sounds a bit too stark, but not by much. Probably more true than not. What I do think I can taste is likely a mind game, other than what the tongue picks up. A subject with plenty to elaborate on. We should discuss it over a pint some day and you can tell me what you taste.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham FinchTo Scott AndersonHopefully so... the UK next year.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago