Day 12: Junction City to Cottage Grove - Willamette Valley Covered Bridges 2022 - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2022

Day 12: Junction City to Cottage Grove

I got on the road at 8:25 after stopping for breakfast at McDonalds. Independent motels never serve breakfast nowadays. 8:25 is one of the earliest departures of this tour.

Traffic was light on Alvadore and Franklin roads going southwest from Junction City. Traffic was heavier when I turned south on Territorial Highway, still no shoulder. I pedaled through the charming little town of Elmira, then through Veneta which is much larger.

House in Elmira.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Veneta has the last services until Cottage Grove, so I stopped for an early lunch at Our Daily Bread restaurant in an old church. They were still serving breakfast so I had a waffle topped with marionberry sauce. I definitely didn't want more eggs and sausage.

Breakfast #2 in Veneta.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltNice name for a restaurant that is in a church. :) "Our Daily Bread". :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I continued south through Veneta on Territorial Highway. Fortunately there is less traffic south of Veneta than north of Veneta. The remote valley is populated for several miles. Then a steep forested 400 foot climb and similar descent to the village of Crow.

Territorial highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0

South of Crow, Territorial Highway is gently rolling hills with an upstream trend. A couple miles south of Crow I turned onto Wolf Creek Road to see Coyote Creek covered bridge.

This bridge is only 200 yards from Territorial Highway but is not visible from Territorial Highway. I talked to multiple local people who drive the highway regularly but didn't know about the covered bridge.

Coyote Creek covered bridge, built in 1922.
Heart 2 Comment 0

This is the 26th and final covered bridge I see during this tour. It's not a great specimen because it doesn't have windows. But it's 100 years old and is in a tranquil setting. I hung out for a while just to experience a full size covered bridge for the last time.

Coyote Creek covered bridge has no windows to let me see the creek.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Final covered bridge of the tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After the covered bridge I continued south on Territorial Highway towards Lorane. I passed many hay fields but few houses.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Territorial Highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0

From one hilltop I had a distant view of the huge King Estate winery. I should have taken a blurry telephoto photo because I never saw it again when I was closer. Trees always blocked the view.

I wandered extensively in the little village of Lorane. The area has 318 people but the town itself is much smaller. I'm sure this remote town has been shrinking for a long time.

Lorane General Store closed a few years ago.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lorane post office is still open.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lorane Odd Fellows and Rebekah lodge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
1889 Lorane Christian church.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I talked to a lady for a few minutes in Lorane. I told her I planned to bike over the hill on Cottage Grove-Lorane road. She didn't recommend it because it's so winding. I pedaled it anyway. Traffic was light and it's so winding that traffic approaches slowly. It didn't seem dangerous at all.

I had never seen red white and blue hay bales before this.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltPatriotic hay bales! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

The southern Willamette valley has a lot of grass seed farms and pastures growing hay for livestock forage. Both crops are less lucrative than the specialty crops grown in the northern Willamette valley. The southern Willamette valley is noticeably less prosperous than the northern Willamette valley.

At the farm with the red white and blue bales.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was dreading the big climb on Cottage Grove-Lorane road, but it was easy. Only a 630 foot climb with 3-4% grade and nice shade. The clouds just dissipated and the temperature was rising rapidly. But it was still only 80F when I arrived in Cottage Grove at 4 PM.

Forested 600 foot climb on Cottage Grove-Lorane road.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had no trouble managing the 600 foot descent to Cottage Grove with only a rear brake. I had some time to explore downtown Cottage Grove because I told my wife to be here at 5 PM. Cottage Grove-Lorane road takes me right into Main Street in the oldest part of town. I enjoyed gawking at the old houses and churches.

Episcopal church in Cottage Grove.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Skeleton house.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Cottage Grove museum is located in a former church that has rare octagonal architecture. This design is somewhat common in the eastern U.S. but not in the west. The church still has the original stained glass windows, protected by storm windows.

Cottage Grove museum now occupies this rare octagonal church.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltNeat octagonal church! Never seen one before!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
This historic house is now part of Cottage Grove Community Center.
Heart 0 Comment 0

On loop tours it's always interesting to mentally compare the start and the finish. Now I'm more tanned, more tired, and my bike has a cracked rim. But I accomplished my goal of pedaling to every covered bridge in the Willamette Valley.

Downtown Cottage Grove, back where I started.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pocket park in downtown Cottage Grove.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I asked my wife to take photos of me at Centennial Covered Bridge. The start and finish photos are the only self-portraits during this tour. That's one disadvantage of solo touring. I just don't think about it when traveling alone.

Posing at Centennial covered bridge, the start/finish point of the 12 day tour.
Heart 3 Comment 0

In Cottage Grove I have a final view of the Coast Fork Willamette river. I have seen many tributaries during this tour: Coast Fork, Middle Fork, McKenzie, Mohawk, Calapooia, South Santiam, North Santiam, Luckiamute, Marys, Long Tom. Plus the main Willamette river and many big creeks.

Centennial covered bridge and Coast Fork Willamette river.
Heart 1 Comment 0

My wife arrived at about 4:40 and we walked to Jack Sprats for an early dinner. After dinner we drove 40 minutes to go home. Another successful tour.

Early dinner at Jack Sprats on Main Street in Cottage Grove.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Distance: 51 mi. (81.6 km)
Average Speed: 9.3 mph (14.9 km/h)
Ascent/Descent: +1941/-1570 ft. (+592/-479 m)

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 508 miles (818 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWhat does your wife think of all your various bike tours on your own? I assume she doesn't bike? But to each their own... :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago