In Evisa - Lavender Fields, Forever - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2003

In Evisa

This day surprised me when I went over the journal and the photography log.  I had forgotten that we stayed two nights in Evisa, taking a layover day for a longer hike.  I had remembered the hike, and all of the wild pigs we encountered along the way.  I'd been thinking that this was a shorter walk in the morning and then we biked to Corte the same day, but I'm sure now that I was wrong about that.  We took a longer hike, and then relaxed in the afternoon in the hottest part of the day.

By far the strongest memory of the day was at dawn - another one of my favorite travel memories that I've told friends of countless times.  Sometime before sunrise, we were awakened by the sound of a herd of pigs squealing below our window in the street.  I imagine it was the same small group that wandered into the Aitone Hotel when we arrived in town yesterday.  It lasted a minute, and then they moved down the street.  Then, nothing for another five or ten minutes.  Then, we were reawakened by the same group.  This went on for a half hour or more, and then we heard a pickup truck drive into town.  As it passed through, all of the pigs followed after him as a train, squealing excitedly.   I think it was their breakfast wagon.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0