Wisdom and Courage from Friends - From the Compound to the World - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2022

Wisdom and Courage from Friends

Every now and then some golden nuggets come along through conversations that shine light on this whole situation.  

Friend A:  "But I feel we are are in a 'holding  pattern'.  Things will change and we will be back on top again.  Despite that right now it's hopeless.  No international travel, it appears for years to come."

Friend B:  "Power has an effect on people.  Makes them petty.  Once someone has power they always want more and they don't want to give it up either."

Friend C:  "If you can get out of there, you leave China.  It's not safe for your life.  I think China will not open the country easily.  And you will endure a lot of pressure.  It's bad for your mental health.  Think about work for later."

Friend D:  "Congratulations for getting out of lockdown.  I'd head to the airport now on a one-way ticket."

Friend E just got released from her compound.  Recall she was the same one earlier who tested positive and got sent to quarantine camp hell.   "3 hours after compound release today I was told they were shutting the whole area down again in the evening.  Neighbors were all running with their bags and I shoved my bags out the door and one fell in a ditch!  One neighbor said I can help.   I left some stuff behind.  67 freaking days of prison.  I'm glad I listened to my instincts to leave quick.  I was about to be sealed again.  But I escaped.   No excuses.  Just do it.  I have a new place to stay now."

Friend E later ended up moving to Thailand and is decompressing on Koh Samui

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rachael AndersonYour friends comments are very interesting. I would definitely get out as quick as possible and you have set your self up very well to do that!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Fit SteveThank you very much. Yes it's on the radar screen but the logistics of how and when to do it as well as potentially leaving loved ones behind is what keeps me up at night. On the other hand as another friend said "You also are faced with windows of opportunity to escape, that open and close with little notice with the length of each closure being variable". So it's really hard either way
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Fit SteveWhat a hard decision to deal with!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Fit SteveTo Rachael AndersonYeah there's no easy solution but at this point I'm not doing anything drastic. I'll stick to my long-term plan and anticipate these lockdowns will happen in waves. Despite the well-meaning intention of these friends, they aren't the ones paying my bills and they're all commenting from outside China except the last one who escaped from one compound to another.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago