Scored a Pass - From the Compound to the World - CycleBlaze

March 23, 2022

Scored a Pass

We managed to procure an elusive pass to enter and exit the compound in the late afternoon of Day #6.  I really didn't know what to say.  Should I be happy for having earned this freedom?  Or angry that all this nonsense had effectively mangled six days of my life.  If this was a cycle tour, a lot could happen in that time.  I went clear across Hainan Island in four days on a meandering route just recently.  Or before all this covid crap, I did an epic cycle from Pattaya to Siem Reap in four days.  

But now here, I coudln't get myself to leave the compound as a result of the earlier messed up mental state the last six das had inflicted.  I did a few laps with the usual compound confinement route and chanced upon a little kid spinning around on his mini-bike doing the exact same.   I could have told him "You and I aren't that different riding around here in circles."  

Eventually I flashed my pass and left the gates.  The blue sky was vivid and exhilarating.  The weather had just cleared up, and I was recovering from the surgery also.  But for whatever reason, I set a 500 meter radius limit from my house and did laps.  It was the same style as the compound but just bigger laps.  With each new turn I came across a different perspective and noticed things I didn't see before.  Plus there was some evidence that things were slowly beginning to open up again.

Last parting shot of the compound
Heart 1 Comment 0
The freedom side of the fence
Heart 0 Comment 0
This supermarket also opened up after 6 days of lockdown. What you're seeing here is an army of food delivery guys taking orders
Heart 0 Comment 0
Open for business. Yes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I took this one in a hurry, but it's the same compound as the store earlier. The white figure is in a hazmat suit and the gate is where all food deliveries go to. That compound is locked down over 14 days.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still takeaway but re-opened. Coffee shop looks inviting.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 7 km (4 miles)
Total: 13 km (8 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0