Paonia- Redstone - with some help. - Colorado Colors Tour 2021 - CycleBlaze

September 27, 2021

Paonia- Redstone - with some help.

I tried using the 'pause ride' feature on ridewithgps. It didn't quite work. It still gave me credit for all of the miles, although you can clearly see where I stopped and started the app when you look at the map.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today didn’t turn out quite like I expected. Genny and I were out the door early, anticipating a 34 mile climb to the top of the pass. We had a headwind from the get go. The wind blows downhill in the morning and uphill in the afternoon. Everyone knows that, right? We just like to work hard!

We had gone no distance at all before we sat the Highway sign flashing that the Highway would be closed at mm 48 between 1-4 PM. We spent some time doing mental math, trying to figure out just where that would be. We still had cell service, Genny called Jim to put him on alert that we would be requiring his services. We both continued down the road against the wind. 

It was 55 degrees when we departed. Genny quickly took off a layer and I left my vest unzipped. There was 5 miles of road with no shoulder before we gained a huge shoulder.

In the meanwhile, I decided there was no chance I could make it to the top in the correct time frame. If anything, I should ride slowly and try and meet the 4 PM end of the time frame. What I decided to do, was jump forward to the top of the pass. Jim soon caught me and said Genny was going to try and make the top. He had checked the CDOT website in the meanwhile and the closure was for rock blasting and removal between Marble and Redstone. That was even further  away than I expected. There was no way I could ride that distance in the allowed time frame. 

I told Jim I would meet him at Kebler Corner for a jump forward. It took me 2.25 hours to ride there from Paonia. In retrospect, on a future trip, I would skip Paonia and stay at Kebler Corner to save the 32 mile round trip. We did not like their two night requirement, so did not stay there. For a future trip, I think I would swallow hard and pay. Jim said it could be considered an expensive room. Indeed, we paid $190. At Taylor Park for one night. Kebler Corner is $110. A night. Times 2, is $220.  It’s about the same. 

Jim graciously pulled over a couple of times for photos. I didn’t think it could possibly be prettier on this side. How could we top Kebler Pass? Perhaps this side was more colorful because of the addition of red oak brush. 

I didn’t  take a pass photo at the top because I didn’t earn it. I did want a potty break, but there were so many leaf peepers that I gave up and decided to look for a spot lower. 

I had 12 intensely beautiful downhill miles to Redstone. I arrived in town at 11:15 and took a cruise down Redstone Blvd to kill some time and a a few miles. I ended up back at Redstone Inn for lunch. Masks were required, luckily, I had one. 

I ordered a tall gin and tonic in celebration of an excellent trip, thinking of my buddy Spoon. That went straight to my head, on an empty stomach. Hopefully my enchilada lunch soaked up some alcohol so I can coast down to the cabin. 

I’m sitting outside now, texting this entry on my cell phone. It is now after 1 PM, Genny’s moment of truth. She was 14 miles from the top when we passed her. I hope she made it!


stand by for an update. 

Yes! Genny made the top ten minutes before her self imposed deadline. I'm proud of her, not only did Genny try, she succeeded! I was just coasting downhill to the cabins as they were unpacking the van. Their room wasn't ready, so they spent some time sitting in the chairs next to the river. Redstone Cliffs Lodge is one of my favorite lodging spots anywhere. Redstone is a charming, tiny town. 

We chatted for a bit about the weather forecast (rain late tomorrow), and planning the evening/morning.  

We went back to Redstone Inn for dinner.  We ate out on the patio, it was dark and a little chilly by the time we finished. That didn't keep me from ordering hot apple crisp with ice cream as a celebration on a good trip.

There is one more day, but it's my driving day. Jim and Genny will scoot downhill (370 feet of climbing in 30 miles) early to beat the rain. I'm going to park my van next to their vehicle and take my bike out for a ride along the bike path. In the meanwhile, they can retrieve their luggage as they please. 

That will be the end of our magnificent tour! 

The local grocery had a HUGE selection of kombucha.
Heart 1 Comment 2
jerry witherspoonwhat the hell is kombucha?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo jerry witherspoonFermented, flavored tea. It’s supposed to be good for the little critters in your stomach. It’s an acquired taste. Not quite the same as gin and tonic!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
We don’t have Tilamook yogurt in Rifle. I liked the cute saying.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Departing town in the early light.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Seen in Somerset. I’m trying to figure out why to put the fire hydrant in a house. To keep it out of the snow?
Heart 1 Comment 0
I thought the views couldn’t possible be as good today.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Paonia Reservoir is extremely low.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Could these rocks be balanced naturally? Seen at the top of the pass.
Heart 1 Comment 0
At the top of the pass.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Who doesn’t love aspen trees?
Heart 3 Comment 0
On the downside.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Marcela I.I think this one is an excellent contender for one of the best pictures of the colors this trip.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Marcela I.I will have you look through my phone when I get home. I tried not to be on photo overload here, but it was very difficult to choose which ones to publish.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 3 Comment 2
Marcela I....but the background mountains are so good in this one!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Marcela I.Yes! I like their jagged tops.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
This is the cause of our problem today.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here is the actual blasting sight.
Heart 1 Comment 0
From the bridge entering Redstone.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This is the only time I’ve worn a mask the entire trip.
Heart 2 Comment 4
Scott AndersonVery becoming. I’ve never noticed you have green eyes before!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott AndersonYou are easy to please! Thank you!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettYou're braver than we are in not wearing a mask! We wear ours everywhere we encounter other people - grocery stores etc. Idaho had such a high number of covid cases and low vaccination rate, that we didn't want to take any chances.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezGenny has mentioned several times how easy it is to become one of the herd, doing with the other sheep do. In that case it would be a flock - but, you know what i mean.

She says in California masks are mandated indoors and she is accustomed to wearing a mask all the time. Here, it was very easy to slip into doing what everyone else is doing . . . we've seen just a handle of masks (if any), each day.

I do know a few people who qualify and have gotten their boosters. None in Rifle, so far.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 384 miles (618 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0