Frisco - Fairplay - Colorado Colors Tour 2021 - CycleBlaze

September 22, 2021

Frisco - Fairplay

Heart 0 Comment 0

We ate breakfast at the desirable Buckhorn Bakery and Cafe this morning. We were waiting outside when they opened and luckily were seated before a party of ten young men. I wondered what they were in town for. It must not have been a bachelor party, since they were all up at 7:30 this morning. It was a cool 28 degrees. A dog dish sitting out front had a skim of ice across the top.

Well fueled, we agreed upon a 9 AM departure. As chilly as it started out, the temperature at 9 was predicted to be 50 degrees. Genny wore capri tights in anticipation of a warmer day. 

I went out the front door. There were fewer hallway turns that direction. Genny and Jim went out the back door, to the parking lot. I figured out quickly what happened, but I had to chat with an admirer of my bicycle.  I walked around the rear, we took a photo, and were off!

Straight away, our two different riding apps disagreed on how to get on the bike path. Since we could see the path directly in front of us, we went ahead and got on.

Our first ten miles on the path to Breckenridge were pleasant and we chatted all the way. There were a couple of spots we followed what seemed like the logical route, although the phone apps told us differently. Genny's app had her getting on the highway at one point. Mine told us to take a path that didn't exist . . . we kept going uphill and found our way!

I was getting totally desperate to find a bathroom, when a park appeared. It was full of children playing on unique playground equipment. This isn't the stuff I grew up with! They also had a bathroom. Thankfully! Now I was ready to tackle the rest of the day. Little did I know what was ahead of me. Well, I did. I've read the journals and spoken to Alison, who rode over Hoosier Pass just a couple of weeks ago. I knew to expect traffic. It's one thing to abstractly say, "Oh, yes, traffic, and crumbly non existent shoulders." It's another thing to live it.

We were routed onto Park Avenue. That was it for the bike path, from there, we were straight on Highway 9. I was behind Genny, my preferred caboose position. I stopped to turn on both of my blinking lights.

We had commented happily on our gradual 1-2% climbing grade. We agreed this was ridable all the way to the top. From Breck, the grade increased some, but I was still in my middle chain ring for miles and miles. Too far. At some point, the road would have to get steeper, wouldn't it? 

Genny stopped once when I was close enough to stop with her. I gave her my standard story about riding her own ride, I would be stopping as needed. Probably that would be every mile, but so far I wasn't to the serious pass climbing situation. 

Traffic seemed to come in spurts of 4-6-8 vehicles at a time, from both directions. Sometimes we would have moments with no traffic at all. Sometimes we would have traffic from both sides at once. I felt we didn't have many big trucks. Genny felt there were too many. Everyone was polite. I saw a couple of vehicles who appeared to come to a complete stop behind Genny rather than pass her at a bad moment. 

Jim was waiting for us on the opposite side of the road when we had five (?) miles to the top. It was a hopeful distance. I had been taking the Anti Fatigue capsules and also the occasional Perpetuem tablet. My legs were feeling great. I was really hoping to keep the momentum going all the way to the top. 

After we crossed back over, Genny got going. But I could see two big semis in a row. I pulled clear over and let them pass. This might be easier than Vail Pass (my opinion), but it sure wasn't more fun.

Genny got ahead of me and I never saw her again until the top. I kept plugging away, very content with my performance. I was so busy watching the traffic, that it didn't feel safe to look around at the trees. Today's beauty was wasted on me. The only time I admired the view was when I stopped.  That's an excellent excuse to stop!

I finally dropped down into the granny when we hit the switch backs. I'm not sure how many there were, but I was happy to see them. Some years ago I used to be intimidated by switch backs, until another rider pointed out that they are my friend, taking the bite out of the grade of the road. So true! Now I love switch backs. Genny felt that the very first one was tough, and also another in the middle. The middle one had a similar grade coming out of it compared to yesterdays climb under the freeway. That was it! The rest of the day was a totally acceptable climb. My legs didn't complain even once. Hurray! Now I have two passes ridden for this year. 

Jim was waiting for us at the top. We didn't see any other cyclists the entire day, except for riders in town. I thought for sure we would see some today. No. Not one. 

We had a slight tailwind to the top and a slight breeze there. I put on my vest. Genny switched to a wind vest. Jim had treats for us from Buckhorn Bakery! Mine was gluten free banana bread. The texture was just right - which is not always the case with GF products. Genny had a huge snickerdoodle that she insisted was far too large. I think that anyone who climbs Hoosier Pass deserves the giant cookie!

Genny and I debated who would be slower on the downhill. I started out in front, but she quickly passed me. I stopped to check the air in my tires. Feels good. I'll go slowly anyway. 

We had gained a small, dependable shoulder on the climb, which we REALLY appreciated. It disappeared on the downhill.  I scooted over into the lane, as necessary. One good thing about going downhill is that it doesn't take long. 

I couldn't see Genny in front of me, but did see Alma. It looks like an authentic western town. I wouldn't have been surprised to see a prospector or two walking down the street. It was a very small town and I didn't see a place to stay until the outside of town where there was a B&B. I tried a google search right now for food. It shows Otto's Food Truck as the only choice. I think Alma would be a memorable overnight - but, the B&B was a bit out of town for a bicycle tourist, as far as wanting to see the town.

I'm not sure if I'm thankful or not that the bike path started directly out of Alma. It was nice to be away from the cars. True. The path had very frequent ruts, clear across the path. Ruts deep enough that I leaned forward in my seat to lessen the impact. It really took the fun out of the downhill. I don't know if going uphill would be any better. Then impact perhaps would be as percussive? I can say that I felt I needed a better bra by the time I got to Fairplay!

We were through town and take a right at the T intersection. I did not see any other lodging choices as I rode through town. Google tells me that there are two other lodges, neither of which I passed directly. The Brown Burro Cafe has been mentioned in several journals and now appears very closed.  There's an Asian Fusion restaurant right next to the motel. Jim and I walked over the the gas station for a Subway, our first and probably only time this trip we are in a town big enough for a Subway. Or, town not too fancy to have a Subway. 

I was warm enough riding and warm enough descending. Now I'm sitting in bed in the motel with my big coat on. Cold. Isn't that a laugh! 

Jacinto had the day off work today. He went hiking up Quandry and is going to come and eat dinner with us and spend the night. 

Tomorrow it is my turn to drive. Jim and Genny will take the easy climb up Trout Creek Pass and then a zipping downhill into Buena Vista. I have a country route worked out to ride once I get into town in Buena Vista. I might decide to save my legs. The following day is the monster climb up Cottonwood Pass to Taylor Trading Post. I've wanted to do this ride ever since Cottonwood Pass was paved several years ago. It's the entire reason I am on this fall colors tour!

Jacinto hiked a 14er and is coming to Fairplay for dinner and to spend the night! There are many ways to play in the mountains!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The street painting in front of our lodge. There were many street paintings in town.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The fancy door prop in my room.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a good rule to live by!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Starting photo.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here’s a clever way to see down the lane if cars are coming.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Our only potty stop at a playground.
Heart 1 Comment 0
See the beaver mound in the foreground?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Trees!
Heart 2 Comment 0
An old cabin outside of Breckenridge.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Approaching the summit!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I felt great at the top!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Perfect colors!
Heart 1 Comment 0
In Fairplay.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 230 miles (370 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
George HallI really enjoyed this entry, it reminded me of my 2015 crossing of Hoosier Pass on the Transam route. Due to my "both ends to the middle" approach, it was also in Sept when I crossed. An earlier start helps with the traffic. And I definitely remember the bumpy bike path downhill from Alma!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezBuddy,
I also enjoy reading other people's perspectives on routes I've done. I believe I will go back and read your thoughts right now!

Kelly
Reply to this comment
2 years ago