Aspen - Rifle - Colorado Colors Tour 2021 - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2021

Aspen - Rifle

Heart 0 Comment 2
jerry witherspoonIsn’t Florence just a freeway town?

spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo jerry witherspoonI did a google search on Florence, AZ. Google says there are 25 buildings on the Historic Register. That sounds hopeful. I went to ridewtihgps and looked for bike paths. I didn't see a one . . . There is a retirement community to the west . . .
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Spoiler - I can't wait until the appropriate time frame to tell you the best thing I've seen all day - or perhaps all summer! This morning a fox ran across the path right in front of me, carrying breakfast! I think it was a large bird of some kind - perhaps a fat chicken! There was no chance at all of getting a photo. The fox continued to lope across the path as he looked at me, mouth full of prey, as his fur ruffled in the breeze. It was a sight to remember for years! 

Back to chronological story telling order.

I was awake before 5 AM, thinking of how I could fall asleep, or I could get moving and beat the afternoon west wind. The lazy of pedaling less hard won out over the lazy of lounging in bed. 

My breakfast routine was abbreviated this morning. Remember that restaurant milk to go last night? I mixed a serving of Spiz meal replacement into the milk. I also ate the eggs/meat/cheese from a breakfast sandwich. My plan was to stop at Dos Gringos Burritos in Carbondale, 30 downhill miles away, for a second breakfast. 

My phone said 50 degrees as I was departing. The bicycle computer's thermometer disagreed, saying 43 degrees. I wore  a vest, tights, Earbag ear warmers, and my everyday long fingered fishing gloves. Marilyn told me about wearing fishing gloves as a compromise to stay warm, but still have finger dexterity. I liked them so much in the spring, I wore them all summer! 

Traffic was busy in Aspen, even before sunup. The working folks had to get to work. The streets were busy with cars. The bike path had an occasional walker or jogger. Mostly, I was alone. 

Jacinto doesn't like to ride an out and back route. He doesn't want to see the same thing twice. My position is that everything looks different going the opposite direction. That was certainly true today. I wasn't bored at all. I was especially busy watching for the sun! I wanted it to crest the mountain and shine on me. I was on the edge of warm. I could have used full fingered gloves, with the finger tips covered. This three day trip to Aspen was a good warm up for the actual colors tour. It made me think of what I will need to do in three weeks when we start out again. I will need thicker tights and gloves. I forgot a buff this trip. If I'd had one, I would have pulled it up over my chin. 

I saw two deer grazing by the river. They were picturesque, but wary of me. I was sure they would bolt if I stopped for a photo.  I saw two cyclists going the opposite direction. Men, getting their miles in early. 

The sun would peek through a low spot occasionally, but I didn't get consistent sunshine until close to Basalt. That was also roughly the area where the path leveled off some. Who would want the downhill to end? Me! The chilly cyclist. I wanted to do some pedaling to get my blood flowing. 

Just where the path does a three way split at Basalt, I saw three handsome bucks with velvet on their antlers. They were crossing the path with one doe. Slowly. So slowly. I debated my chances of getting the phone out for a photo. I decided to admire the sun glinting on their antlers instead. I spent the next few miles debating about deers' romantic lives. Three bucks. One doe. That doesn't seem like it would work out well. Perhaps they don't care about romance until fall rutting season?  I'm curious enough to google that, since fall is upon us. Google tells me that rutting season is September/October/November-ish. Since September isn't until tomorrow, I guess the four of them could hang out and be buddies for one more day?

The things I think of while cycling!

The path between Basalt and Carbondale is a favorite of mine. It runs right along the Roaring Fork River. Smoke has been an occasional issue all summer, depending on the wind pattern from California. I was so disappointed on Sunday that the California crew didn't get a good view of Sopris. Yesterday we had a woman tell us the sky was clearing, she could see clouds. I quietly thought to myself that Alison would rather not see clouds, as they were anticipating rain later in the week from Hurricane Ida!  The smoke has taken away the Colorado blue from the sky, but hasn't been bad enough to be a health concern recently. That is a good thing.

As I neared Carbondale, I debated the burrito stop. I was 30 miles in, but moving at a good clip. I wasn't hungry at all. I suspect all of the food I ate last night had something to do with that. I decided to keep moving, but reserve the option of stopping to eat in either Glenwood Springs or Silt. I did take my vest off. The air was warmer. The path users I saw in Carbondale were dressed in shorts, for the most part. I had a group of 6-8 retired looking people pass me, all together. Perhaps a half mile down the road was a large group (20?) of younger men, moving much faster. Were they all together? They definitely seemed grouped by age. It was a little odd to see two such large groups, close together, but not. Another of those little bike path mysteries.

I stopped at the potty five miles past Carbondale. I took a look at Sopris. No - still not in all of her glory . . .  I had packed three apples from home, one for each today. I pulled out the last one and snacked away. I was almost off the path and it was almost time to brave the interstate. Fortunately, I still had a good tailwind. I didn't want to quit moving, for fear the wind would change.

According to ridewithgps, I had only 80 feet of climbing at this point and 2,xxx feet of downhill! Payback all the way!

Two Rivers Park was not as busy today as Sunday. It still had one full row of cars, with three mostly empty rows left. On Sunday, the lot was jam packed. I stopped here and turned both of my lights on bright, bright. I stopped at the potty by the Harley dealer. This is it! Time for traffic after three days of almost all bike path riding. I had two roundabouts to navigate. I imagined vehicle drivers cussing me for riding in 'their' lane instead of the sidewalk. But, I was going where they were going! I was happy that I timed things well. I made it through the first roundabout without any cars, and only one car caught me on the second roundabout. 

Traffic was fairly light on the interstate, everyone gave me space. I had one spot where two semis were passing right next to the jersey barriers, but everyone stayed where they should. I was off the road at Canyon Creek before I knew it. I looked around for signs of construction (remember that extra four miles of interstate riding I had on the trip out?) - I didn't see any signage or evidence of construction. I removed my Earbags and ate a half a Quest bar. I debated the need to eat anything, but was still moving along at a surprising pace. I wanted to keep energy up and take advantage of the tailwind. 

I zipped right through New Castle. Look at all of these people, just getting started with their days, and I already had more than 50 miles on the odometer. We won't discuss the fine points of how little effort those miles cost me.

Right near Coal Ridge High School, the wind shifted. No! Yes . . .  I was sure of it. Perhaps it was in my mind . . .  no, the flag in front of the school is definitely not flapping in my preferred direction. I was still happy. I've done this route from Aspen a number of times. Typically, by the time I arrive here, I'm tired. Today, I was still feeling sassy. I bet that fox this morning is feeling sassy also, with his belly nice and full from his big breakfast. 

Speaking of breakfast - maybe I would stop in Silt after all. There are two taco trucks next to the roundabout. I decided to patronize the closest one. First I stopped at a hidden potty at a little children's park outside of town. I've never seen any kids playing there . . .  but it has nice looking equipment and a potty. It's next to the Painted Pasture Subdivision. You would think there would be kids. I was standing outside, sending some text messages, when a car turned in and slowly went through the parking lot. Perhaps they wanted the potty. I walked my bike a few steps away. They circled back around. Yes, I guess I was too close for their comfort. I got on the bike and pedaled off, waving to the men as I departed. As I'm typing this, it made me realize how isolated the location was. At the time, I didn't feel concerned at all - I'm a good country girl, I think everyone is genuine unless proven otherwise.

A couple of miles later and it was lunchtime. I navigated the Silt roundabout and had to turn around to get to the taco truck. I politely turned off my flashing lights so as to not annoy anyone. I even took off my helmet and combed my hair! I ordered three carne asada tacos - $6. they came with grilled onions and a grilled jalapeño also. That was the best meal deal of the trip. 

I was waiting at the picnic table when a man walked up and said, "I know you!" - Hmmm, do I know you? It was the men from the potty. It's a small world - especially in a one horse town like Silt. We ended up chatting while we waited for our food. They were building a spec home in the subdivision. The house was almost finished. Getting subcontractors and supplies was a real challenge. We talked about housing prices. One of the men, Dave, had sold his home in Phoenix for $300,000. and wished he had purchased in Florence for $200,000. Now the house he wanted in Florence was $300,000. Housing prices all over the country are crazy, that's for certain. Dave said that Florence was an over 55 community and had a nice network of bicycle paths. I tucked that information away to check out later.

Those tacos were just the thing. I was fat and happy as I rolled down the road - only ten miles to home. I did feel slightly sad about the climb up the hill home, but that's the way it is every ride. 

I had a good trip. I hadn't ridden to Aspen since COVID. I seldom get anyone else to go with me. It was a treat this time to have new bicycle buddies to ride with, especially people who hadn't seen the area before and appreciated the vistas. 

Now I have three weeks before the big ride with Jim and Genny. Stay tuned! I will be back.

Even the trash cans in Aspen are beautiful.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I saw a lone hot air balloon enjoying the sunrise.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The bike path was so close to the mountainside that I was ~15 miles down the road before the sun reliably hit me.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I turned around to photo these sunflowers. Someone had cut them off and carefully woven them into the fence. Hoping to spread seeds for next season?
Heart 1 Comment 0
A new to me archway over the path in artsy Carbondale.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesBut what did the arch say on the other side???
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezI will have to ride back the other direction and see!

We will come through here again on the colors tour. I will try to remember to look!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Leaving Carbondale.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Mt Sopris view was slightly better today than Sunday.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I stopped at the taco truck at the roundabout in Silt for lunch.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 70 miles (113 km)
Total: 149 miles (240 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0