Big Sur to Kirk Creek: I saw whales today - SF to SDO 2012 - Coast Route - CycleBlaze

April 24, 2012

Big Sur to Kirk Creek: I saw whales today

Scott pulled into the camp site late yesterday. He's a 100 mile a day man. We both left Big Sur at the same time in the morning and he motored off up the hill while Turtle and I plodded on. About 15 miles down the road he passed me again, having stopped for a big breakfast at one of the cafes.

Why didn't I do that?

That was the last I saw of him....

I met a number of cyclists, all bound for Cambria, all travelling light and doing big miles.... I wonder if the universe is trying to tell me something?

I saw some whales. They were just lazing about in a tight little cluster, bobbin up and down and rolling over each other. I think it was two mums and two calves, but it was hard to tell. Took lots of photos with my toy camera, but none of them were good enough for publishing.

I'm spending the night at Kirk Creek. It's a beautiful site on a cliff above the water - and surrounded by Poison Oak, of course. The hiker/biker site is the best of the lot and only $5.00 a night. No drinking water - bring your own. No showers - stay sweaty for another day.

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 224 miles (360 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0