Day 9 Mount Gambier to Portland - Adelaide to Melbourne - CycleBlaze

October 16, 2009

Day 9 Mount Gambier to Portland

The rain showers continued overnight with a particularly heavy shower just as I collapsed my tent in the morning resulting in me carry an additional half litre of water that day which was trapped in the floor of my tent. Fortunately I had a microfibre towel which I used to mop up the excess water when I pitched the tent at Portland and after wringing it out it was just dry enough for me to use it after my shower. The usual cross wind and periodic heavy showers continued throughout the days ride to Portland.

We crossed the border back into Victoria and our morning tea/early lunch stop was at Dartmoor. The trees in the usual Avenue of Rememberance had died and a local artist had carved the stumps into statues of soldiers, sailors, airmen, nurses etc.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 119 km (74 miles)
Total: 726 km (451 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0