Day 1 - Adelaide to Melbourne - CycleBlaze

October 8, 2009

Day 1

I elected to travel to Adelaide by train for a number of reasons:
I enjoy train travel;
I got a good discount on the fare on account of my YHA membership and;
I could wheel my bike and panniers straight into the luggage van although the charge for the unboxed bike was AUD$40.00, the same as my actual fare whereas if the bike was boxed it would have been AUD$17.50;

Heart 0 Comment 0

Mike P travelled by air which meant he had to disassemble his bike and box it for the flight. When he arrived in Adelaide it took him about two hours to re-assemble it. Mike met me at the station at about 6PM and we rode about 10km to a caravan park at a suburb called Marion on the outskirts of Adelaide for the first night's camping. We managed to get our tents up before it became too dark and walked to the local shopping centre for a fast food dinner.

Today's ride: 8 km (5 miles)
Total: 8 km (5 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0