Day 17: Booneville to Berea - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

May 27, 2006

Day 17: Booneville to Berea

Part of today was gorgeous--beautiful cool hollows and little valleys to ride through in the morning to keep the humidity at bay, but that spit me out into rolling farmlands with roads exposed to the sun. And something like 40 miles without services, so I had to go easy on the water near the end of the day. When I got to a service stop, I bought two bottles of water, gatorade, and Pepsi and drank about half of that right there while I chatted with Shirley, a lady who'd worked at the Bighill post office since 1979 and was able to give me good local information for Berea.

Morning at the Booneville Pavilion
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty country road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Little waterfall in the back of a hollow
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hot Kentucky valley--and I'm starting to run low on water...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Good hydration!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was so hot when I got to Berea that I just had to stop for ice cream. Seems I shamed a few patrons at the ice cream store into not complaining about walking 2 blocks in the heat after they found out I'd ridden almost 60 miles in it. Today was the first day I missed my car and its air conditioning, but I'm safely at Oh Kentucky RV Park, complete with a $5 biker rate, laundry facilities and a pool.

Boone Tavern Hotel--not much of a tavern as this is a dry county
Heart 1 Comment 0
Blondies ice cream. I earned that milkshake today!
Heart 1 Comment 0
It's like the ran out of letters. Oh Ky Rv
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 763 miles (1,228 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0