Day 8 - Venice: Where's the sun? - It's Italy not Macedonia. Oh well. (2015) - CycleBlaze

September 25, 2015

Day 8 - Venice: Where's the sun?

The forcast promised sun today, but it had all gone by about 10am.

I caught the bus into Venice proper and spent the day walking.

FYI, from the bus it was very clear that I am definitely catching the train across when I go to leave Mestre. The footpath, which is hard to find and narrow when you do, is blocked for a few hundred metres at the moment anyway. The good news is that it is blocked with bits of steel as they are building a new bike/foot path off the side of the bridge.

I'l let the pictures do the talking. This is only a few of them. I went mad with the camera... but I'll spare you all the canals and palaces on the whole, and just show some of the hopefully different stuff.

Catching the ferry to San Marco. At 9am, things were very busy on the water.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Outside the Palazzo Ducale. I didn't stay around this area long.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Marzipan!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Such a cliche!
Heart 0 Comment 0
So do you want a calendar of pin-ups of hot priests, or hot gondoliers for Christmas??
Heart 0 Comment 0
Thank goodness this is a bike tour. So much tacky goodness to buy otherwise!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I used to love these model car shops as a kid... The last one in what was the Italian section of Sydney is gone now, along with most of the Italians.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are many signs and lots of graffiti protesting against the cruise ships because of the wake they leave and the impact on Venice's fragile foundations. There were 3 giant beasts in town today. This poster has been partly obscured, but a sea swim to block the boats - what a great stunt!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Door bell.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not so 'PC' door handle.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I got all excited! MusikFabrik (a contemporary music ensemble from Cologne) is playing at a new music festival in Venice next week. I will only be an hour away by train in Pordenone by then. I texted my friend Carl who plays with them and he is not doing the gig because he wants to run the marathon in Cologne?!? ARRRGHH!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Present... bottoms!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Damn. Missed it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch. Calf liver and onions...I couldn't help it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Capo do Mori - one of the three statues after which the area is named.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An a few canal pics in case you had forgotten where I am...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Delivery blokes and lions.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And a bit of a palace, with a camel.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The end. Until tomorrow.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0