Day 14 - Gemona to San Daniele: Fatboys and ciggies. - It's Italy not Macedonia. Oh well. (2015) - CycleBlaze

October 1, 2015

Day 14 - Gemona to San Daniele: Fatboys and ciggies.

I left Gemona a little later than I hoped. Most of the smaller hotels only start breakfast at 8am, which means it's getting on for 9am before I am actually pedaling.

The Tagliamento River. When the snows melt it must be amazing. But at the moment it's barely flowing, compared to the width of its banks.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The first hour was in the hills north of the town and the river, through roads next to forest land, rivers and at one point, a gorgeous little lake.

I forgot to make a note of the name of the lake, but it as was small and deep. With some sun the colour must be amazing.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was here that I met an Italian 'bikepacking-style' tourer - riding a Specialized Rockhopper with 4" tires, converted to an e-bike (??) - who had spent some time in Croatia and was on his way back to a town near Vicenza. He was smoking rollies and listening to music on his ipod whilst charging up the hills! Still, fun for a bit of a chat.

Coming into Majano. This place seems to manufacture kitchens in the factory next door. This building is maybe the office??
Heart 0 Comment 0

When I crossed back again to the south side of the Tagliamento River, I struck south towards Fagagna which was described in the tourist literature as "one of the most beautiful towns in Italy". Madness. Huge detour for nothing. I have no idea what criteria they used?!?

Leaving the disappointing town, I passed some cows NOT in a feedlot. Lucky cows.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And also a flock of seagulls (nowhere near the sea?) all sitting in the warm earth and facing into the wind.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I then followed part of a route recommended by the tourist people at the San Daniele tourist office. They have a dozen or so routes advertised on their website which I had found when thinking about the trip at home. As promised, it took me past lots of farms, some very ancient looking farm buildings and abandoned villas, old towns with stone dwellings and churches and clock towers, and lots of fields of corn being harvested (although that bit they had not advertised as part of the pleasure).

The streets in this town were so narrow it was impossible to get far enough back to have the whole tower in frame.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived at San Daniele at a little after three and found a hotel. The guy on the front counter was asking me about where I had come from and where I was going. It turns out that he is from a town close to Pordenone and has lived there. He knew all about the festival, and had previously hosted guests (they have a homestay network as it is hard for all the hotels to cope with the influx of people).

The view from my hotel widow across to San Daniele
Heart 0 Comment 0

Last full day of cycling tomorrow...

Today's ride: 63 km (39 miles)
Total: 610 km (379 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0