Day 10 - Venice to Latisana: And windy has stormy eyes... - It's Italy not Macedonia. Oh well. (2015) - CycleBlaze

September 27, 2015

Day 10 - Venice to Latisana: And windy has stormy eyes...

Today was hard work. I left the hotel before 7.30am in order to beat the crowds through Venice as much as possible. But I became locationally challenged getting from the train station at S. Lucia to the ferry terminal and missed the ferry I was aiming for. I had to wait about 40 mins for the next to Lido at 9.10 which arrived with just enough time to sprint the 1km back towards the centre and catch the vapporetto to Punto Sabbioni. I have no impressions of the Lido therefore, except those from different film and opera versions of Death in Venice!!

Just a handful of the big cruise ships in town
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leaving the ferry port, heading towards the Lido
Heart 0 Comment 0
Famous bits. Doge's Palace and St Mark's... This is the view that the cruise ships want to give the punters, and why there is conflict about it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The first thing I noticed in Punto Sabbioni, once I finally got underway on the bike, was the bloody headwind.

The cycling has begun. Lots of swampy plants (with flowers) in the waterways as I start heading up the coast.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It persisted as a direct headwind for the next 50km to Caorle and side wind from then on all the way to the town of Listana where I arrived at 6.30pm. I had some stops, but my average speed on the bike was 12km/h. I barely took any photos I'm afraid.

The area around Lido di Jesolo was like a ghost town. Most places were already shut for the season and the roads were quite empty. It looked a bit like a low-rise (or 1980s) Surfers Paradise in QLD, in the sense that one block back from the beach was a shopping and 'amusements' strip that when for miles, and the beach front was lined with hotels and apartment buildings all at least 4-5 stories and some up to 10-12. There was also a strip of campgrounds, all at least a couple of blocks back from the beach. Mind you, judging by the enticing attractions on offer, who would have time to go to the beach? I lost track of the number of 'aqua worlds' with multiple pools and slides. There was also an aquarium, dinosaur park, reptile/dangerous animal park, exhibition about the body (including 'real organs' according to the signs) and bulk themed restaurants - with pirate theme seeming the favourite. All closed. What a shame. They seem to be open only 4 months of the year (late-spring to mid-September). What does everyone do for the rest of the year?? Anyway, I just kept riding into the wind.

I had planned to stop at Caorle for lunch, because I had seen some nice photos of a little chapel on the edge of the water, some sculptures along a lovely promenade, old traditional fisher-folk cottages, to which I had added the fantasy of nice lunch ina cafe/restaurant looking out to the sea... But at 1pm I still had 15 km to go. Thankfully at this point a long cycle path appeared running next to the road, with a few detours into housing estates, and I was able to put the ipod on and listen to some music.

I had been struggling a little at the start of the day anyway. I had not really slept enough and had been a bit wired from the packed days in Venice. With the wind as well, I really needed to keep telling myself that it didn't matter how long it all took and remain positive. I was very pleased that, especially with the music, this was possible.

Some of the views (this is just before Caorle) were lovely, but most I didn't photograph, because of ugly buildings and theme parks.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I got to Caorle. It was blowing a bloody gale. There was a sandstorm from the beach onto the walkway and road and it was miserable. So I stopped long enough to buy a drink and use a bathroom and then kept going. So the attractions will have to wait for another visit.

Hold onto your hats - at Caorle. Can you see the sand being whipped along the beach???
Heart 0 Comment 0
A lovely day at the seaside, picking sand out of your eyes.
Heart 0 Comment 0

About 6km from my destination I passed a gelato shop called 'Il Re del Gelato'. Must be good, I thought. And it was. Thus fortified, I was able to make the final distance, via a Lidl for yogurt and juice to accompany my cereal in the morning.

I was pretty knackered. For the first time this trip my knees were pissed off. I had a wonderful dinner in the hotel restaurant which certainly helped the recovery - penne with speck, onion, garlic, tomato sauce; and absolutely splendid grilled octopus and squid from the grill, with grilled vegetables and some polenta. Awesome. I then slept really well until the bells from the cathedral across the road started at 7am!!

Today's ride: 84 km (52 miles)
Total: 385 km (239 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0