Day 1 - Arrival in Milan: Yep, Sydney is a long way from Milan - It's Italy not Macedonia. Oh well. (2015) - CycleBlaze

September 18, 2015

Day 1 - Arrival in Milan: Yep, Sydney is a long way from Milan

Having barely slept on the 22 hours of flying and airport transit time, I snoozed on the bus from the airport in Milan to the Central Station. Once at the station it was time to open the bike bag up and see the state of things. At first glance it was not too bad - but closer inspection revealed that the pin onto which the click-box for the hub gear attaches was bent 90°. Also part of the metal chainring guard was bent. I knew that there was a bike shop near the station (having been paranoid enough before leaving to think it may be necessary) and they lent me pliers so I could 'repair' the damage. All basically working for the 1km cycle on the way to the hotel. I also got my first old bloke asking if I was on a cycling holiday and wishing me good luck with two thumbs up. I will need to spend more time tomorrow - when less tired - seeing if further adjustments or lube will help the slight crunchiness still able to be felt.

Unable to actually check in so early, I found a cafe to sit in and nursed a gelato, coffee, and mineral water, only to be surrounded by little kids from the school across the road once the final bell went for the day. After a few hours of afternoon hotel rest reading and organising panniers, I wandered out again to find the kids, and the rest of the community it seemed, all sitting and playing in the park. It was noisy. Groups of parents standing in circles whilst the younger kids swarmed squealing over the play equipment and the older ones draped themselves over tables and chairs in self-concious groups - many polishing off gelato. Any remaining seats, especially those in the shade, were taken by quartets of chattering old ladies with assorted shopping bags at their feet. I was in Italy. All around this area were the remains of an extensive tram network, evidenced by the lengths of track still visible. Only a small number of trams remain in Milan. Such a shame. They make a city so much more attractive!

I went to a restaurant close to the hotel for an early dinner. It was a cheap and cheerful 'Bill and Toni's' kind of venue where one could choose pizza (napolitana) or lasagne; beer or water. I picked lasagne which was 85% pasta sheets, 4% meat sauce and 27% cheese and/or cheese sauce. Tasted great! I think because I had no idea if would be so cheesy, it doesn't really count?? Glad I didn't order the pizza. Not my kind of pizza. Slabs of what I would call foccacia with rivers of cheese gooping down the sides. Even this early the place was getting full. Kiddies love cheese!!

The hotel is hilarious. All crome, black leather, tiles and marble, plus mirrors. Shocker to keep clean. You only had to splash a bit of water on the black bathroom tiles for a caulk residue to form... Plus someone went bonkers with the lighting design.

The doors to the rooms. Not such a great idea?
Heart 0 Comment 0

I lasted until 8.30pm then crashed for pretty much the next 11 hours.

Today's ride: 3 km (2 miles)
Total: 3 km (2 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0