Day 25, to Cave-in-Rock, ILLINOIS: My skin needs a break from the sun. Oh, great, thunderstorms tomorrow! - Chris Cross America - CycleBlaze

May 17, 2022

Day 25, to Cave-in-Rock, ILLINOIS: My skin needs a break from the sun. Oh, great, thunderstorms tomorrow!

CORRECTION: An earlier version of this post named the wrong state in the headline. This has been corrected. Cave-in-Rock is in Illinois, not Indiana. Clearly I was sleepy when I wrote this.

Pretty sweet campsite for $10. I smile on the left, in front of a picnic table covered with my gear. To the right, my hammock hangs between two trees. And in the background is a view of the Ohio River, and you probably can't see it clearly in this photo, but the ferry is on the opposite shore.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Tuesday stats

Start: Sebree First Baptist Church in Sebree, Ky.

End: Campground along the Ohio River in Cave-in-Rock, Ill. (Woohoo! New state!)

Dani took a selfie with the signs marking each new state on her cross-country bike ride, and I loved those photos, so I'm doing the same. Here, I grin in my helmet, my cycling glasses with rearview mirror, and my MWABA jersey, as I ride the ferry across the Ohio River from Crittenden County, Ky., to Cave-in-Rock, Ill.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The Daily Progress: 58.4 miles

Elevation gain: 3,005 feet

Ice cream flavors: N/A

Lodging expenses: $10

Food expenses: $24.50 (lunch at Jeri's in Clay, snacks from a gas station in Marion)

Tuesday ramblings

My arms are itching and slightly burning, so I'm all confused: Is my skin still revolting from all the sunscreen, even though I switched to a hypoallergenic one? Or is it just sunburn, in which case I should be putting on more sunscreen? I'm guessing it's a little of both. 

For better and worse, we're supposed to get rain tomorrow morning so I think it'll be easy to keep my arms out of the sun tomorrow. There are more severe storms expected Wednesday night into Thursday, so I've already booked an Airbnb for Wednesday night so I'll have a safe place to stay indoors. Tomorrow will be just a 25-mile day so that I can wait out the rain in the morning, maybe see Cave-in-Rock, and then ride out to the Airbnb well before the next bout of bad weather. 

Then we'll see how my arms are feeling. Might need to wear long sleeves for a while.

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 1,097 miles (1,765 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith AdamsConfused: title says Indiana but text says Illinois. I'm pretty sure the text is correct, as Cave in Rock is on my itinerary too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Chris GeorgeTo Keith AdamsThanks for catching this. It is indeed Illinois. Clearly I was a little sleepy when writing this. I'm correcting the title now.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago