Day of Departure - Both Sides of Paradise - CycleBlaze

October 28, 2014

Day of Departure

Bruce's first addition to this journal, but not the last

A bike trip through S.E. Asia might be one of the most insane things I've ever done. I could just leave it at that and you all could say, "Oh, that Bruce, always so negative." But let me list just a few of my reasons.

a.) I've never toured on a bike before, never, ever, not in the U.S. or any other country. I don't know if my back, tail bone, knees, hands, shoulders or other parts can take it. I don't know if I am in good enough shape. I don't know anything about what it takes to do a bike trip. I still don't even know what shoes to wear and we are getting on the plane in 2 hours! Wouldn't a sane person find out the answer to all these things before hauling a bike to Asia?

b.) Three times in my life I've nearly died from heat exhaustion. Two of the times were in Asia and I wasn't even exerting energy the way I will be on a bicycle. It's hot over there.

c.) I don't know anything about the mechanical aspect of bikes. I've never been mechanically minded and I doubt I will suddenly have a mechanical epiphany when my bike breaks. Wouldn't a sane person want to know how to fix things on a bike before taking it to the middle of Burma? I do like my new click-stand and yellow panniers however.

d.) This may come as a surprise to most of you but I'm in my twelfth year of battle with Lyme Disease. It's an awful disease with the major affects being chronic fatigue, joint pain and a kind of brain paralysis. As near as I can determine, anything that might go wrong with your body is magnified greatly by the Lyme bacteria - If you have eye problems anyway they might get a lot worse. I feel quite crappy almost everyday until late afternoon. You don't start out on a bike each day in late afternoon. Wouldn't a sane person with Lyme Disease just stay home?

But I usually don't dwell on the negative. I've always been fascinated by every single place I've ever been. Attitude and mental stimulation are important in fighting diseases so a trip might be the best medication of all especially to a part of the world that I've had a 40-year love affair with. I always find something to write about and photograph no matter where I am and I already know that I love S.E. Asia, especially in winter.. Maybe the knee that had surgery five months ago will get stronger each day. Maybe the warmth will ease my joint pain. Maybe the sunshine will have amazing effects on me. There are so many reasons to get excited about this trip. Thai food!!

Traveling with bikes is Andrea's plan but I must say, she has researched bike touring in Asia as well as learning the mechanical aspects of bikes for years. She has done all the work in getting us ready and I feel lucky to have her introducing something new to me. And how could I stand in her way? She has prepared us as well as a seasoned bike tourer would have. I also feel lucky that we met Willie Weir and Kat Marriner (bikers supreme) at a rare time when they WERE NOT on their bikes and instead on a bus with us in northern Thailand. That was way back in 2005 and since then we have become close friends, best friends. Along the way they have gently but greatly inspired us not only through their biking tales but lifestyle as well.

A couple of years ago I remember telling Kat all that was wrong with me and how on earth could I take the bike trip Andrea was dreaming of. She listened patiently as I went on and on about how my body was falling apart. When I had finished she simply said, "I guess that means you should go on the trip."

She's right. There are many reasons to go on this trip. I have to honor the fact that I'm doing as well as I am with this stupid disease. I have worked as hard as I could to be there for my father for the past six years. I feel a sense of accomplishment in having helped him live as long as he possibly could and with the best quality of life. I was with him in Minnesota many a winter. We had a rare bond and I will never regret having spent so much time away from my home. He gave me so much. I feel incredibly lucky to have had the parents I had and maybe it's a good time for me to go far away and reflect on it all because for me it is a time of transition; one of those few times in life when the generational cogs move, click in place and suddenly the realization of being part of the generation that is next to go chimes loud and clear. Maybe it's the perfect time to go on a bike trip anywhere but especially in my beloved S.E. Asia and with my beloved Andrea.

Asiana Airlines video
Heart 2 Comment 0
Taxiing
Heart 2 Comment 0
The excited travelers
Heart 3 Comment 0
Tiny tasty fish for lunch
Heart 1 Comment 0
The middle and longest leg - 12 hours
Heart 1 Comment 0
Two other travelers
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Ron SuchanekSanity is overrated. Great post!
Reply to this comment
6 years ago