Sheridan - Dillon, MT - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2020

Sheridan - Dillon, MT

Heart 0 Comment 0

772 elevation gain

Jacinto says he's ready for a rest day. Did you ever think he'd say that? He also says that it doesn't matter what he's carrying on the bike, extra weight isn't really noticeable. He bought all of those groceries in Driggs and carried them to Tetonia. He said he didn't notice the weight, per se, but he did notice that he put all of the weight in one pannier and the bike didn't handle as well.

Speaking of bike handling - I'm happy to be on the Stratus in the wind. I was going downhill on that windy day to Cameron AND a semi passed me. Between my speed and his speed, the bike really got yanked over. I tensed right up, but this bike doesn't care. It just keeps going. I'm finally, finally starting to relax and trust the bike again on the downhills. Body language (tense shoulders) don't translate straight to the front wheel on this bike, which is an excellent feature.

My phone alarm went off at 4:40 AM! I was actually asleep, which makes things even sadder. I turned off the alarm, but didn't feel like I went back to sleep.

We have a short day today. I had called last night to see if I could get in the room early. Yes, as long as the person before us checks out in a timely fashion. I planned to ride early, the better to beat the wind.

Check out the past couple of places has been 10 AM. Jacinto has been sad about that because it's been cold in the morning and he would have waited longer for the air to warm up.

I ate a banana, yogurt, and oatmeal. It seemed like too much food for such an easy day. Later I was still hungry, and ate a Cliff bar! Jacinto went to the office for coffee and ice and never came back. He was gone ~45 minutes. Finally, I went over to get the ice myself. Jacinto was in the office talking to the friendly female owner and the cyclist. We chatted about 20 more minutes and then I made my excuses and left. We never exchanged names. The cyclist said he had been planning to ride the TransAm and had started in Astoria, renting a bike there. He has been out of work since March, and has been called back to work. Now he was going to end his ride in Jackson and fly home. He's made arrangements with a shop there to ship the bike back to the shop. He works in TV sports production and basketball is starting back up.

I averaged 16.5 mph on the gradual downhill to Twin Bridges. I recognized the park there from my 2005 Lewis and Clark trip. I also recognized the approximate area where I had a tire blow out and had to call for emergency road service. I'm surprised things are so clear in my mind 15 years later. Today was a chilly day, but I remember temperatures being quite warm back then. I asked Jacinto later when the last day was that we were hot. We think it was Rangely, CO - the next day was very cold in Vernal, UT and it's been as warm as 'comfortable' to mostly chilly ever since. I'm in bed right now with the blankets on. It didn't occur to me until right now that I'd probably be more comfortable with my jacket also. It's 75 degrees outside at 3 PM.

Back to the day - There was an excellent shoulder to Twin Bridges, then an adequate shoulder after. I texted Jacinto that I was at mile 20, good shoulder and light traffic. I no more than sent that text, than the shoulder completely disappeared at mile 22. Gone. It's a good thing there wasn't much traffic.

A few long rollers started, which slowed me down. I waved at all vehicles passing me as a way of saying thank you for being nice to the cyclist out here. One double tanker semi driver waved back broadly. I'd say half of all drivers returned my wave. Not a really good return rate. Hardly any of the semi drivers waved back.

Happily, the shoulder reappeared at mile 28 and remained the rest of the way to town.

There's been signs for the Lewis and Clark route and assorted historic sites. Of course I had to stop and photograph Beaver Rock. It still doesn't look like a beaver to me.

It doesn't matter how many miles I have to ride in a day, I'm always ready to get to town. Subway was at the entrance of town. What the heck, I haven't had enough green stuff. I stopped for a salad and ate it at a picnic table outside. I continued on through town. I saw the movie theatre. It didn't appear to be open. I saw a Best Western and a Super 8. We are at the Sundowner, which was well located for food and had good reviews. The parking lot was in disrepair and the building looked a little unloved. Gulp. This is a day off. I'd like a nice spot. I had told the motel clerk last night I anticipated arriving at noon and I arrived at 12:30 after eating. I checked in and paid. $140. for two nights. That's almost half the price of the Quality Inn and the Best Western.

I had to wait 15 minutes for the maid to finish the room. It is . . . adequate . . . the carpet is 80's multi tone brown. The shower tile is the same vintage. The shower won't turn all the way off and the tub finish is worn away. The toilet runs . . . no shampoo, but when I asked in the office they had some. They also had an extra pillow when I asked for it. There is ice. I'm trying to give myself the pep talk. Jacinto is in now. His opinion is that it would be a better room for one night than for two, but it isn't horrible enough to move. The bed is firm. We have a table and chairs. No sofa or lounge chairs. The room is very large though. No problems getting our bikes to fit. Jacinto says it will be important if the AC works. I don't think we will use it.

There's a little taco truck next door. I tried to get Jacinto to go buy us a couple of tacos for a snack, but he's just finished the end of his three pound bag of pistachios. He's eaten a snack.

We went to the taco truck next door for dinner. Jacinto laughed that it's about as far away as I like to walk after riding. He has that correct! I ordered six tacos to share and also a chili relleno meal. Jacinto got a chicken meal. All of the picnic tables were in the sun, so we took our food back to the room. Of course, that was too much food, so we have leftovers for later.

We watched a movie and I did NOT set my alarm. I told Jacinto he had to sleep until at least 8 AM. We turned the AC on and it did work. I"m ready to be lazy tomorrow!

We finally talked to the other cyclist staying here. He rented this bike in Astoria. It was about half the cost of buying a touring bike. He seemed happy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a typical scene from the past few days.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've seen lots of old barns and plenty of old trucks - here I have them both together!
Heart 0 Comment 0
A trucking company's mailbox. I wonder if packages can be delivered in the trailer section?
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is an oddly shaped cemetery, it is long and skinny, following the treeline.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This wetlands was worthy of a photo stop, but the photo doesn't show the beauty at all.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Famous Beaver Rock.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look! I recognized this house from 2005. It has a new roof, but it's the same place and I remembered it.[pic 74294]
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 1,896 miles (3,051 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0