Rifle - Meeker, CO - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2020

Rifle - Meeker, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

2,628 elevation gain

It felt like I didn't sleep a wink last night. We didn't go to bed until midnight. I had my alarm set for 6:30, but was awake by 3 AM and it didn't feel like I went back to sleep. I kept thinking about the road construction and if I should have Marcela meet me at the pull out by the stop light and give me a ride. Jacinto said he was going to go for it. I decided I would also. I hated to have a four mile gap in our border to border trip.

It took a long time to get organized this morning. I thought I had done most of the bike loading last night, but I found plenty of reason to go back and forth to the bicycle. My goal time to leave was 8 AM and I was a half hour late. Today was a perfect bicycling day, the high temperature was supposed to be 84, and no wind. I really didn't have reason to be in a hurry, other than I like to get going in the morning.

Remember I had my wheel swapped out? I had ridden back and forth in front of Steve's house and all seemed well. Of course, I did not ride on my two days off. I went for a couple of relaxing walks instead. We have a 200 foot downhill from our house to the main road. As I braked going downhill, my rear brake suddenly gave way. I stopped and refastened the V brake. Now the brake lever depressed completely to the bar when I squeezed it. Shoot. I looked back up the long hill. I have about a brake and a quarter. I decided to keep going. Today was an uphill day with little braking. We could look at it tonight. It would be an activity!

When I hit the flat part of the road, my bike seemed very heavy. It shouldn't. Two rest days isn't that long. If anything, the bike should feel light! Steve had asked me if I wanted to swap out the tires. My old wheel had a Marathon Racer tire. This wheel has one of Jacinto's favorite CST Sensamo tires. It's heavy. The wheel is also a factory wheel. I'm not blaming the rider - I'm saying that the new wheel was slow going down the road. That's my story and I'm sticking to it!

I ran into a coworker, Melissa, and stopped to talk briefly. She wished us well and off I went.

We never, ever ride the road to Meeker. Other local cyclists never ride this road. It has a reputation of being very narrow with poor sight distance, and fast, heavy traffic. I felt a little jump in my heart rate as I passed the usual turn to Rifle Gap. Now I was entering the bad zone. The last time we bicycled to Meeker, I took the dirt road the entire distance. Two of our riders stayed on the main road and said it was just fine. I was about to find out for myself.

We had a 2,000 foot climb up to the top of Rio Blanco hill, then a gradual downhill to Meeker. It was a long, easy climb. I didn't use the granny gear until the very top. Each mile that passed by that I still had a small shoulder, I was grateful. Now I am in the motel room, I can say that I felt safe the entire distance. They've been improving (widening) the road slowly over the years. When this piece is finished, the road will have an 18-24" shoulder up to mile 16, and then an ~8 foot shoulder the rest of the way to Meeker. That is good cycling.

Today was certainly a different day than the majority of the trip. Highway 13 is a major north south route. There were a fair number of semis, motorhomes, and trucks pulling toys. I saw only a handful of motorcycles. We are going to be on higher traffic roads the next few days and probably the majority of the remainder of the trip. This is a more touristy area. Will there be tourists? We shall see . . .

As I got closer to the road construction, I knew I was at the top of the climb, but also wanted to maintain speed through the construction. I took a couple of anti fatigue pills and one Perpetuem. I didn't feel like I needed them at the moment, it was more of a preemptive strike. There was a flagger next to the light. I had just missed being able to go by mere feet. I watched the light turn red. I pulled on up and asked what to expect. The flagger radioed and asked what to do with a stretch bicycle. The woman who answered said bicycles and pedestrians are treated just like cars and have to wait for the light. While we waited we talked about his job. He said they had been starting work at 5 AM and finishing around 8 PM. Then he drives home to Grand Junction! He was looking forward to the 4th of July weekend, when they only had to work a half day Thursday and then got off until Monday. The project is scheduled to last until November.

It was finally my turn to go. I waited for the line of cars and took off. I was thankful to be on a gradual downhill and to have a hard packed dirt surface to ride on. I did not have any more cars pass me at all. It ended up being a non event. Thank goodness. I was relieved to get all the way through to the part that had already been finished. Look at this great shoulder! It's at least eight feet wide!

I had a few rollers, but the bulk of the climbing was done. I had been so busy thinking about the construction, I forgot to look at my mileage. Just like that, more than half of the day was done AND I was on a downhill. This is a nice day to ease back into touring life. I fleetingly thought of the high winds forecasted for tomorrow - but I pushed that thought out of my head and enjoyed the view while I pedaled lazily and gravity did the work.

Food was next on my mind. There used to be two Chinese restaurants in town. Now there are none. I pulled in at a drive up window at a liquor store. There's a secret for you - liquor stores usually have V-8 and the price is usually good. I got a V-8 for me and a pop for Jacinto for $2.85. Next stop was the Mexican restaurant. I decided to eat in so I could have chips and salsa. There was a family just arriving as I did. A ~4 y/o boy told me that my bike was very long. It is indeed!

I went in an ordered the special, enchiladas. I called Jacinto. He answered (amazing we had service here) and said he's 8 miles from town. I might still be here when he gets in. I ate half of my meal and took the other half for Jacinto. The motel was less than a block away. There was no one in the office, but I called the number on the door. I had let them know we would be arriving early. Michelle had left the key under the mat for me. I love small towns! We are in room 100, which is spacious with a kitchen and TWO refrigerators. Both work. It's only $75. - I think it might be the best value of the trip. We have stayed here a couple of times. Not all rooms are this large. If you stay at Elk Mountain Motel, ask for room 100.

I was just getting ice at the gazebo and Jacinto pulled in. He had a good ride and had taken many photos. He always acts like it's a bad thing that he stops for photos. I think his feet appreciate it, because he doesn't get hot foot if he will take the time to stop.

When I mentioned my braking issue, Jacinto hopped right up to fix it. I expected him to say he'd do it after dinner. We wheeled the bike outside in the shade, two minutes later he was done. Look at Jacinto go!

Irony - I could have finished the entire lunch, but saved Jacinto half. He didn't eat any of it, but ate pistachios instead. I think he's trying to build up his food supply. He brought a container full of breakfast casserole from home to get going. Now he has an enchilada to go with it . . . I have a banana, but no apple . . . I ate that and only brought one.

Report on the new double walled water bottles. I'm not so sure. One of the reviews specifically said that two ice cubes and water is cold for 9 hours. I took that literally. Last night I put in two ice cubes with refrigerated water and left the bottle in the fridge until this morning. The second bottle got Liquid IV and more ice. Today the water bottle was tepid within two hours. The electrolyte bottle did stay cold the entire distance. I guess I need to use more than two ice cubes. I keep the bottles in feed bags on my handlebars. I could hear the ice rattling all day. It was slightly annoying. Maybe on a diamond frame bike in regular water bottle cages noise wouldn't be a problem?

I also brought my Hydroflask. Cold water is a big deal for me. I think all of these double walled bottles are a real weight penalty, but one I'm willing to pay. Provided they work! Let's see tomorrow. I will use more ice.

Tomorrow we head west. High winds are forecasted - from the west. We are hoping there will be a south component. It's going to be bad starting tonight, but getting worse the later it gets in the day. I'm willing to leave early to battle a lessor wind. Jacinto is just going to muscle through. He's trying to tell me it's no use leaving early because it will be windy all day. His real goal is to get me to sleep in so he can sleep in also. I've known him too long and I know his real motive!

Tomorrow should be a nice downhill day to Rangely - instead it's a big question mark. Let's see what happens.

We are going back to the Mexican restaurant for dinner. It's the only place nearby that's open. The little hamburger stand, Clark's, is closed today. They are having their parking lot resurfaced. There goes the temptation of ice cream.

I always like staying in Meeker - I think of past trips through here and people we traveled with. I have good memories here.

One of us is ready to ride. The other needs to finish his coffee.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm back in old barn country. This one has stood the test of time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I am through the four miles of road construction! Yay!
Heart 0 Comment 0
From mm 20 all the way into Meeker has been widened. It was fine riding!
Heart 0 Comment 0
It takes hardy people to live out here in the middle of nowhere.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view coming into Meeker.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto has a fresh three pound bag of pistachios.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto's photo of an interesting rock formation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto's photo. It was taken about four miles before town. I missed it completely. He says I missed it last time also.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto's pool noodle is still along for the ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 1,145 miles (1,843 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0