Rest day - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2020

Rest day

I was happy that I slept in until Jacinto got up. Can you believe he woke up first? I was all into lounging in bed and Jacinto was listing all of the things we had to do today. I told him we should spread our activities out to occupy the day. Then he reminded me that we should do our outside things soon because it will heat up. Ugh. So true.

Daly's Restaurant is where I went in to eat yesterday. They are closed Fri, Sat, Sun. Isn't that odd? They are the only place in all of Clifton/Morenci that you can dine in. We walked down to PJ's Diner to get breakfast. Jacinto had brought a menu home from there yesterday. The door was locked, but we could see people inside. I knocked several times and no one came to the door. The sign on the door said to call and order. But we didn't have phones with us. We were getting a little not happy about them not coming to the door when it was obvious we were outside. A man walked up and I asked if we could use his phone to make an order. He said he didn't have a phone with him either, but he would go back and get it. Of course, just as he was out of speaking range, someone opened the door. We ordered, and then sat on a bench in the shade. The nice guy with the phone came back. He had walked all the way down there for a cup of coffee. I guess he needed an activity also.

It was a bit too long of a walk for me back to the room in the heat. I'm not going anywhere else today. Those who know me can guess the stubborn tone of voice I said that with. We sat outside in the shade and ate. My Denver Omelet was the skinniest one I've ever eaten. Usually Denver Omelets are nice and generous. I had been planning on saving half for lunch, but it was barely enough for breakfast. Jacinto order chorizo and eggs, but didn't get what he ordered. He got green chili with eggs, beans, and meat on the side. He had more than enough to save for lunch.

Next up was fixing my flat tire. That soft rear tire that Jacinto pumped up in Safford was good when I left in the morning. It was also good when I got to town. Do you also compulsively squeeze your bicycle tires as you walk by? I do. Even when I use the bathroom at night, I will give them a test. Later, after we were in the room, the back tire was suddenly quite soft. I think it happened somewhere between the restaurant and here. We found a slice in the tire that went through on the inside for maybe 1/4". Jacinto put a little piece of gorilla tape over the inside section and I patched the tube. That occupied us for another while. Long enough to see the bug exterminator come in and spray all of the outside and also inside the rooms. They asked if they could do our room also. It's a good thing Oren wasn't here. That would have made him squeamish. We chatted with the bug guy a little. I asked if the big hill going back to Stafford had a name. He didn't think so, but said maybe the locals had a name for it.

I was all sweaty and dirty from fixing the flat, so I took a second shower. Jacinto just said with despair in his voice that it isn't even noon. He's been talking about riding to Morenci to occupy time. He's also been talking about mailing things home, but I pointed out he needs to find a box to mail things home. The post office is a mile from here. Uphill. Very uphill. It's noon now and 102 degrees.

The source of my flat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0