Rest Day. - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2020

Rest Day.

Remember that flat from the fish hook? I used my one good patched tube. I tried patching the fish hook tube, but botched the job. Jacinto said I used too much glue. This was after he told me he didn’t think I used enough glue. I interpreted that to mean more glue - Jacinto says he meant to spread it around more . . . so, I do agree I put a lot of glue - very thick because I’ve been having trouble . . . sigh. In the meanwhile I also patched a leaky patch on a different tube. That one, amazingly, appears to be holding. I put a larger round patch directly over a small round patch. I checked it in water and forced Jacinto to check it also. He says I can see bubbles in water just as well as he can. But I made him look anyway. Will that tube really hold air on the road? I hope I don’t have to use it. The next bicycle shop is in Victor, only 22 miles away. If I can manage to get that far without another flat, I’m buying THREE tubes. I’ve had more flat tires on this trip than I’ve had in the last several years. Jacinto has been giving me the what for about having a pump without a gauge. Really, it’s never been much of an issue. *IF* I have a flat, it’s typically around home, and I only have to pump up the tire enough to get home to a floor pump. At this rate, I might decide to start carrying a floor pump! I was on a tour years ago where a guy pulling a BOB trailer had a floor pump. He was a popular guy in the evenings.

All of my flats have been on the back. I started out with a Marathon Racer. When I swapped wheels at the midpoint of the tour, I did not swap tires. The different wheel had a heavy CST tire on it. Ironically, I left that tire on, thinking I will never have a flat with that thick tire. Wrong! On the Wolf Creek Pass day, we replaced the CST tire and also the tube for a brand new tire/tube combo. Guaranteed to be flat free. Wrong again . . .

I'm the one who gave up the king bed room a few nights back to build up my karma. What the heck?

Cross your fingers for me I can make it to Victor and that the shop is really open on Saturday. It should be? I hope I've had my last flat of the trip. Jacinto had seven flats on the first half of the trip and none since.

Remember this chair that I made fun of upon arrival yesterday? It has been continually occupied ever since. As soon as one of us gets out, the other one sits down.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Salsa Fargo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This couple from Jackson is riding a two day loop. They had fought a headwind much of the day and bought ice cream here before riding the last six miles up the pass to their campground.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0