Naturita - Gateway, CO - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2020

Naturita - Gateway, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

1,193 elevation gain

I did my usual wake up too early thing and felt sleepiest right before it was time to get up. Isn't that the way it goes? This relaxed getting on the road thing in the morning is easy to get used to. Oren and I almost always start at 7 AM, if not earlier. I've been starting at 8 AM most mornings, sometimes not until 9 AM.

I went to the office to get ice. It also doubles as a bistro for a paid breakfast in the morning. Two older men were eating and talking. They were at different tables, so I don't think they were together. One man was telling the other that 'they' should get rid of the CIA and FBI. The other man tried to answer and the first one talked right over him. Man #2 said, "You're not letting me talk." That's about the time I left. I will never know what #2 had to say. Both men were easily in their 70's.

I was out the door at 8:15. There wasn't any wind or a cloud in the sky. The terrain for the day was downhill with some undulating climbing. It seems we are still getting payback downhill from the Mongollon Rim. I know that shouldn't be possible, all the way over here. But we have been going downhill a long time. Please don't take that as complaining!

I had estimated my arrival in Gateway as being noon. Check in isn't until 4 PM. Let's see how lucky I am. Going into Naturita, the scenery was mostly wide open dirt and blue sky. The pavement was brand new. Today, the pavement was older, but not bad condition. The view kept my jaw hanging open all day. I can't believe we've never bicycled here, despite living so close. The reason why is the lack of lodging. It's a 102 mile day without stopping at Gateway. If you do stop, it is very expensive . . . we are just going with averages for this trip. Lodging prices all through Arizona were lower than we usually pay. Overall, it will average in.

I had two things to watch for today and didn't see either one. There was supposed to be a natural spring at mile 20 from town that was very obvious. I was looking and looking and I never saw it. Jacinto thinks he did, but says it was mile 30. There were people at the pull out and he didn't stop.

The other thing I was watching for is the hanging flume - it's on the national register of historic places and was built in the 1880's at the cost of $100,000. to carry water to a gold mine. I did not see it either . . .

I did see plenty of memorable scenery. The huge rock walls went on and on. It was amazing. We drove through here once before, but it's not the same seeing things at bicycle speed.

I had lots of one click shift up/down type climbing. I used the granny maybe once today, on the big 300 foot climb. Life was easy and going fast until mile 30. I swear, I thought, and did not voice out loud, that here I was at mile 30 already and the wind hadn't started. Boom! The wind started. I shouldn't have even thought about wind! The road was full of S curves. When I was on the hill side of the curves, there was less wind. My speed dropped significantly, but it wasn't Kayenta bad. I never did start looking at pick up trucks, wondering if my bike would fit.

Speaking of traffic - I saw four vehicles in the first six miles. Two of those were CDOT trucks. Later I saw construction signs. I thought it was road work, but it was those two trucks cutting down a tree. Traffic was once again very light. I saw 5-7 flat bed semis with concrete Jersey barriers on them. I wonder where they were coming from/going to?

There was no town of Uravan, although it's on the map. There was a nice looking campground called the Ball Park Campground. It has shelters and porta potties. No running water. It's run by the historical society.

I think this was the best scenery day of the tour. Jacinto says Monument Valley was better. I disagree because the view was behind us most of the time. He also offered the Clifton - Glenwood day as better scenery. When I asked for specifics, he said because it was green. I pointed out that today was green the entire way. There were plenty of trees and shrubs by the river. He did have to agree today was a top day.

If we hadn't had a headwind, this would rank even higher on my bucket list rides. You need to do this one!

I did not see any town besides the resort. Years ago, the Discovery Channel founder, John Hendricks, was vacationing in the area, liked it, and bought the whole town. It is currently for sale for $279 million. https://patch.com/colorado/across-co/gateway-canyons-ranches-resort-colorado-listed-279m I am not complaining today about bare bones accommodations. It is very nice. For the money though, I don't think it's the most bang for the buck we've ever had. Tuba City and Brian Head last year with both excellent accommodations for the money spent. This year Springerville was extra nice for the money.

I'm not accustomed to fancy service. I didn't know how much to tip the girl who showed me to my room and fetched me ice from I don't know where. I gave her $10. I hope that was appropriate. I did ask where I could get another bucket of ice and she looked slightly pained. Jacinto left his bike downstairs in the stairwell. I brought mine up and parked it in the breezeway outside of our room.

I've had a shower and am sitting in a leather club chair with my feet up. I'm wearing the provided robe with the resort logo on it. Dinner is at 5. I looked over the menu. The prices aren't too crazy. Selection is limited. The only steak they have is sirloin. I'm going to try the salmon. No can of chili tonight! We have a kiva style fireplace in our room. Perhaps I should turn it on, just because I can? There are two swimming pools here. I'm not so interested in being out in the sun, but even if I were, I don't have a suit to wear. I imagine this is a fancy enough place I can't get in the water in shorts.

Jacinto had a good ride, but a headwind the entire distance of varying degrees. He said he took too many photos, it was too pretty. He was carrying chips and salsa, which I was happy to eat. He also stopped at the grocery store and bought tamales for $2. each. I ate one. It was terrible. But I was hungry. Jacinto was happy I ate it - he said I"m not so picky when I'm hungry.

The actual drive in was open until 1988. This is also the name of a documentary about uranium mining in the town of Naturita.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were trees tall enough to provide shade!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I did not see a single cow. I thought perhaps they were driving cattle. No.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was the start of the only hill today. It looks about as tough as it was. Not much - 300 feet elevation gain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I know it's graffiti and I shouldn't like it. But I do. Jacinto says it's a genuine petroglyph.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The top cliffs were green, it doesn't show up well here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Why fight the crowds in Moab when you can have all of the red rocks you want right here?
Heart 0 Comment 0
We passed through a little valley with great views.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It looks like a baseball field to me. Look at the fence in front of the building. It was eight miles before Gateway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An irrigated field!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking the other direction from the same spot.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is what $450. gets you at the Gateway Resort. If you qualify for the Colorado Resident discount.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from our room.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We have an upscale ice bucket with a gold colored lid. Wine glasses, but no wine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
For the price point, shouldn't all of the handles on the dresser lie flat?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 991 miles (1,595 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0