Montpelier, ID - Afton, WY - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2020

Montpelier, ID - Afton, WY

Heart 0 Comment 0

2,481 elevation gain

Short version - change your cycling plans and get out here to ride this route! Starting around Altamont (but not including the Hanna Hilton), this has been excellent routing. Hat's off to Jim for a job well done. Today was one open mountain valley after another with plenty to look at. There were two passes, but not too hard. Just difficult enough to be happy to see the summit sign. I'm looking forward to the next few days. I kept telling myself no wonder this is so pretty, we are close to Yellowstone.

It was 43 degrees when I woke up this morning. I tried Jacinto's suggestion of telling myself to go back to sleep, I don't need to wake up. That worked fairly well. Go to sleep! Go to sleep! Did that ever work with any two year old you know?

I was out the door by 8 AM at 50 degrees. This is my kind of cycling weather - nice and crisp. Good for riding up the pass, I don't overheat. There wasn't much traffic this morning. We were on Highway 89 all day. I'm pretty sure that goes all the way to the Canadian border and has more traffic. But not this section. The road was climbing from the start. I passed some WDOT workers weed eating around the delineator posts. One man was walking and weed wacking. The other man was driving the truck with the flashing lights.

It's odd how some days just start out good. It didn't matter that today is a climbing day - I can climb because I have to. Living in Colorado it's basically climb or don't ride. But I'm a slow climber and don't especially enjoy climbing. Today was my day. Climbing felt good. I can't tell you how many times I've thought of the Native man near Kayenta who told me I should be good at climbing because I have big legs. Here I go! Big, strong legs are working with vigor.

I saw deer a couple of times today and two antelope. That was a surprise as I think of antelope as being more plains animals. These didn't have horns, or at least not long enough horns for me to see, but had black and white stripes on their faces. I googled that and got African antelope. Google says that pronghorns are native to Wyoming. The photos didn't have the black and white stripes . . . but I saw two. Lots of birds. I think one was a heron - gray with long legs and a big wing span. It flew off as I approached.

Today was a quiet, thinking sort of day. The shoulder was good and there wasn't much traffic. It was easy to get into a rhythm on the climb and listen to myself pant. Which gave me a chance to think about COVID and healthy lungs . . . my lungs are doing great out here. We didn't see any masks, partitions, special seating, etc. in Montpelier. Let's keep the healthy lungs going.

The top of the first pass was mile 9. That was a good way to start the day. There wasn't much steep stuff at the top of the downhill, then it was a nice cruising down to Geneva. There Highway 89 took a left to go back up into the mountains. I ran into WDOT road crew #2. They have weed wacking thing down. This truck had two guys sitting in the back. As the truck drove on the left of the road or the right of the road, the appropriate man cut the weeds around the delineator posts. I stopped next to them and said I admired their technique. One man says it's a method best suited to young people as it's hard on the back. They admired my wheels and I admired the view from their office. Then I was off again with their wishes for a safe ride.

Pass #2 was at mile 31. The ascent was gentle. Perhaps too gentle. I was concerned that I'd have a big push at the top if I didn't start gaining altitude now. Somedays are diamonds . . . Jacinto says the last two miles were 7%, but it didn't feel bad to me. Lots of times it's a mind game. From a distance I could see the downhill wedge sign, you know the one that looks like cheese? I thought I could make it to there without stopping and I did!

I had taken a couple of anti fatigue capsules and a Perpetuem somewhere on the climb as insurance - but today was my day. I felt good and performed well. Down the hill I went, into a tailwind. That wasn't a surprise. The shoulder was wide enough I felt fine using it to descend, which is rare. I almost always take a lane.

It was 17 miles to town. That should pass quickly. When the road leveled off, I ate another bad apple. It was also soft and mushy and brown colored inside. That was a disappointment to my wonderful day. But I ate it. I carried it all the way up two passes!

A sign for Star Valley came up. This is an amazing area. I guess I shouldn't be surprised, we are getting close to Yellowstone. So far the traffic hasn't been bad. Maybe because all of the lodging and attractions are closed? We carefully routed around Yellowstone - this might have been the summer to ride there, fewer people with the closures. Other than we would want the amenities that are closed . . . I saw a sign for a school bus stop. I bet this is a tricky place to drive bus in the winter.

The miles were ticking off. My sub par apple didn't fill much of the void in my stomach. I was ready for food! Coming into town there was a bike path on the left. It seemed rather unnecessary with the nice shoulder, but it was paved, so I crossed the road and got on it. Of course, after three miles it ended, and traffic had picked up so I had trouble getting back across. In the meanwhile, I was looking for food. I passed a very busy hamburger place. On the right I saw a food truck that said omelet and open. They only had breakfast until 11 AM, so I ordered enchiladas. I sat in the shade, which was a little chilly with my sweaty clothes. It was 71 degrees. My sympathies to those of you who are roasting . . .

I had passed the airport right in the middle of town! Airplanes were parked next to the road. Spoon said he has flown into Afton several times over the years and had good memories here. It certainly is larger than I expected. This would be an excellent layover spot. The town is worth walking around and there's a number of food choices. Jacinto can't decide between seafood and Chinese for dinner. I hope he goes for Chinese. I'm not so sure about seafood way out here . . .

I had called Jacinto from the food truck. He was 7 miles out of town. I ate half of the food and was getting cold. I called him to say I was moving on to the motel. We had a suite here - I don't know what came over me when I did the booking. The owner (?) suggested if I needed an afternoon activity to ride the six miles to the waterfall, which is beautiful and the source of the town water. Nope. Not happening. Not even if I had a day off. But it's an interesting tidbit. Our suite was in the far corner and is large. We have a real living room with a sofa and a recliner. Two beds a kitchen table/chairs, etc. It's all spacious. We ride tomorrow 61 miles to Swan Valley and have a day off there. We are at the Sleepy J Cabins. Today was at the Lazy B Motel. I've been getting those two confused for days . . .

BTW, the shower pressure could take paint off of a car. There's no need for me to go for a dermabrasion now!

We ran into the cycling couple from SLC at dinner last night and spent an entertaining evening with them talking shop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View early in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Calling for geology help - This was a most interesting rock, seen only in this area. The colors were more vivid in person.Bill/Dayrider says without actually taking his pick to it, he's guessing it is a thrust belt with thick limestone and thicker sandstone and shale rock.https://digitalatlas.cose.isu.edu/geog/rrt/part2/13.htm - scroll down a bit to read about mesozoic continental Strata - it says right there that it is visible on Highway 89 east of Montpelier. Look at me, for noticing (and stopping to photo) such a memorable feature.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Aspen trees - I still haven't seen many this trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It is nice to get a name and a sign for the effort of the climb.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the bottom of the descent I turned left. This is looking right, down the open valley. I was going back up into the mountains for pass #2.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Seen in the town of Geneva. The roof has collapsed, but the front is still standing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This one is for Harpo - a good old tractor still out in the field working.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill thinks possibly elephant head flowers. Today I finally started to see some wild flowers again. I don't know if it's the altitude or moisture - but it's been days and days since I've seen many flowers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill says these are mule ears. That's an easy name to remember - I saw fields and fields of them today. They had an odor.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pass number two. I was very happy with how I felt when I arrived. My legs still had some zip in them!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view back down the pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mule ears up close.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I"m waiting to hear who this is on top of the Mormon church in Afton. The gold color glinted in the sun from quite a distance.Several people have answered that this is the Angel Moroni. I'm confused why almost all Mormon churches have the typical white spire, but this one doesn't. I will update if/when I get an answer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped here and had enchiladas. Perfect timing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto's photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto is always up for a sign photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto rode for a few miles with the SLC duo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Seen in Afton.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 1,595 miles (2,567 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0