Jackson - Sula, MT - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2020

Jackson - Sula, MT

Heart 0 Comment 0

1,549 elevation gain

Our neighbors last night came home in a drunk mood that was totally different from mine. The man kept trying our door (it's a good thing it was locked!). He then nagged his female companion was she going to open the door, she said he pushed her out of the way . . . with more petty arguing of similar content after they got in their own room. I debated going to the office and giving Jim's name to claim his room. Perhaps his neighbors were quiet? We also had plenty of screaming kids passing by and general noise. This isn't a calm overnight by any means. You have to walk through the bar to get anywhere in the lodge, including the hot springs. As I walked back from the hot springs, there were two men arm wrestling to cheers from their female companions.

Between the tough riding day, the booze, and the hot springs - the background noise didn't bother me much. I went to sleep and slept well. We had looked at the forecast for today - wind was supposed to be calm. We had a largely downhill day with one good climb. It should be nice? My stomach was a little nervous thinking of having two headwind days in a row (or was it the unaccustomed drinking?). I was out the door by 8 AM - ready to face the day.

I was on the road a full hour before I had a car pass me going my direction. It was an excellent blue bird day. Calm and quiet except for birds flitting about. It was a fine day to be on the bike!

I averaged 16.5 mph on the slight downhill to Wisdom. All of the cyclists we chatted with or emailed with, made mention of Wisdom. Two themes were common - the restaurant there was excellent and the mosquitoes were fierce. At the intersection I looked right towards town. I turned left. My oatmeal will have to hold me. I wanted to make miles before the wind started up.

Not too far down the road, I saw an American Legion Camping Park - it had a sign outside saying hikers and bicyclists welcome. Just past there I stopped at a guard rail. I debated my necessity. I don't suppose I was so far from Wisdom that the mosquitoes wouldn't find me. But, perhaps I was. I didn't have a mosquito problem all day.

Our route for today went north, then west, then north again. That's how the wind has been blowing. What happened to the guaranteed southern tailwind? We haven't seen it for days.

The pattern for today was mostly flat riding on good roads with a nice shoulder and very little traffic. At ~40 miles was a chain up area and the start of the climb. I stopped there for a slug of Spiz and a Perpetuem. That must have served me well, as I didn't stop again until the top of the climb. It's taken two months, but my legs and lungs are ready for anything! Even all day headwind like yesterday!

I had a couple of bites of leftover ribeye steak and took a photo. Bill had warned us about rocks and sand on the steep downhill. There was a sign that said 7 miles of 6% grade. I was very happy to be going down. Even though I don't like steep downhills, I'm not fond of steep uphills either! The shoulder continued to be wide all the way down. There were a few rocks here and there next to the steep rock walls.

It was a fast run to Sula. I was happy to be there. I'm always happy to arrive in town. When I rode this route with the Lewis and Clark trip, we kept going to Darby. That's another 17 miles. Even though today was a good day, I think 57 miles is enough. I don't need to ride 72 miles to get to a big town. We have a cabin with our own bathroom and a restaurant. Although it does close at 4 PM, so we are eating early tonight.

I pulled up out front and debated eating lunch. I could finish the ribeye. Nah, I should sit in the shade and enjoy the moment. I went inside, checked in, and ordered a tuna salad. Which is a generous scoop of tuna salad on top of salad greens. $8.50. I was about half done with my food when Jacinto pulled up. He didn't want a bite of tuna, or red onion. I don't know why! We agreed the day had been mighty fine and then went inside to buy a beverage before going to the cabin.

Our bikes will have to stay outside. We have a two room cabin, but it's packed with furniture. We have five washcloths, but only one bath towel. ??? It took a little thinking, but I finally looked in the cabinet under the sink - more towels there.

We have a swing outside that is built for two, but Jacinto doubts it will hold us. I'm trying to decide if I should be insulted.

We have TV, but Jacinto thinks it's just for looks. There's no cables going to it beyond a power cord. It's 3:30 now and we are going to go have an early dinner . . .

Tomorrow is an easy downhill day to Hamilton. There we are staying in a Quality Inn with my free points. The location isn't our first choice, but the price is right.

This is what happens when you have only one pair of shorts and they aren’t dry in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An old building plus a bonus wagon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Easily identified as Hawk Weed, by those who know their flowers. Or weeds?
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’ve seen this style of ranch gate the past couple of days. I’ve never seen it anywhere else.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I admired the clear water at this creek. It didn’t have a sign with a name.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Indian paintbrush? Seen only at the top of the pass today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chief Joseph Pass. I did not stop at all from the chain up area to the top. It’s an easy climb from this side. Especially without a headwind!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Does this count as a pass? I’m not sure. I was going downhill and had to put the brakes on for a photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fireweed is a seldom seen favorite of mine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sula’s origins.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I haven’t even been to the cabin and I like Camp Sula already, just from the flowers and decorations.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto arrived while I was eating outside.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our home for the night at Camp Sula.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 2,001 miles (3,220 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0