Glenwood - Reserve, NM - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2020

Glenwood - Reserve, NM

Heart 0 Comment 0

2,876 elevation gain

When we changed our bookings, we had to go 7.5 miles off route to get lodging. It's a steep climb back out. I'm not happy, but there we are. Last minute changes and no tent . . . When I mentioned to Jacinto that having a tent would give us more flexibility, he looked at me with wide eyes and said he doesn't camp! I think he was happy to get the extra climbing. Now that he's moved his cleats, his feet don't hurt. We've had a couple of climbing days and I'm not beating him on mph, so his masculinity is intact again. I was a little concerned there when he didn't take the long route through Ft. Grant and was talking about sending things home. I think he is in full touring mode now.

Last night Jacinto made a special point to say what a nice handling bike the Rodriguez is, it's very steady on the downhills. He doesn't usually talk much about bike features, he just rides.

We are at higher elevation now, and today was a shorter mile day. I decided I could sleep in. I made it to 3:39 AM before I woke up. Sigh. I went back to bed and rolled this way and that way before getting up. I was out the door at 6:20. The sun hadn't made it over the mountain yet and I was a little chilly. That is a novelty this trip. I coasted the mile back down to the main road and made a right turn. That was my only navigation for 30 miles. Look at me go! I saw a herd of 10-12 deer right at the intersection. They couldn't decide if they should be alarmed at the sight of me or not. I'm sure my long bike was an unfamiliar sight to them.

Beth had said they didn't have enough students in Glenwood to keep even the elementary school open. The students have to ride the bus 30 miles north or 30 miles south to school. I passed the sign for the school, but couldn't see it. The school was built out of the way, sort of out in the country, because a local man donated the land. As soon as I passed the sign, the road started up.

Today was climbing all day. It reminded me of riding Silt Mesa at home. Up or down, but no level spots. I always feel bad to go down, because I have to make it up again. It didn't take long for the sun to hit me, then it was perfect riding temperature. Maybe in the 70's? The views had rolling hills, juniper trees (I could see the berries), assorted wild flowers, and long grass.

The road today was delightfully empty. Most of the traffic I saw early on was forest service traffic, heading south. I couldn't see smoke in the sky, but there must be a fire somewhere as I saw a couple of hot shots transportation vehicles and one wash truck that had sinks installed all along one side. They didn't fold up and stow away, they were just hanging out, going down the road. Just as my curiosity was getting the better of me, I saw a couple of forest service trucks parked in a pullout with workers outside. I stopped and asked if there was a fire somewhere. Yes, down by Silver City there is a new fire. They were getting ready to do mop up work on a fire over the ridge from where we were. Now I'm informed. Jacinto said he didn't see any of the hot shot traffic.

I kept watching the mileage and the current elevation, calculating how much further to the first top. It makes me whiny when there are two tops. It was pointed out to me years ago that when there are two summits close together that the second one is practically a freebie, because you've done most of the work getting to the first summit. Even though I have to agree with that, I still feel like I've done all of my work getting up the first one, why torture me with a second climb?

The grade stayed in the 4-5% range. With the tailwind, I was able to stay in my middle chainring almost the entire climb. I want to think that I was that hot of a rider, but I will admit the wind probably had more benefit than my fresh legs. I stopped at the pass sign for a photo. A Chevy truck pulled over. A teenage boy and a man were inside. They wanted to know if I needed anything. The teenager was eating a fast food sandwich. I wonder where that came from? Silver City?

I had been enjoying fresh pavement since Glenwood. Over the top of the pass, it disappeared. The old road surface was cracked, but not too deeply. There still wasn't a shoulder. It's a good thing there was so little traffic. Sometimes 5-10 minutes would pass between vehicles. Jacinto thinks we are definitely getting a COVID advantage in the lack of traffic. There were several campgrounds along this road that had big orange barricades in front of the campground entrances. It appeared to me that vehicles could probably go around those barricades.

Time for climb #2. It was a short six miles up to the summit, which is exactly where Hidden Springs Lodge is located. I was so, so sad that they didn't have any availability for today. Jennifer said they had a group of back road motorcycle riders who were staying both there and at our lodging, the Frisco Lodge. I should be happy we found a place to stay. Instead I'm very sad about the 750 foot climb over 7.5 miles back to the main road. The town of Reserve is on Highway 12, which looks like it could be a good bike ride. The scenery is certainly excellent here. It reminds me of Highway 64 between Chama and Tres Piedres, NM.

I pulled in at the Adobde Cafe. If you like baked goods, this is your place. An employee was placing a carmel apple pie on the counter as I walked in. Temptations abound! I ordered breakfast. While I waited a man stopped by and had to chat about my bicycle. He said a goal of his was to ride his bicycle up the big climb, but he never made it that far and he quit trying. He was just a touch gleeful about how much trouble I would have climbing the hill tomorrow, since he never managed to get to the top.

I took half of my food to go and sulked as I went outside. There was a rough looking cabin next door. That is the Martinez Cabin that Jennifer has for rent on airbnb. It was rented also . . . off to Reserve I go. It was a delightful downhill ride. There was seldom a level spot. Which means, tomorrow will be all uphill with no break. I mentally compared this to the extra ten miles we had to ride form Clifton to Three Way. I think this will be tougher, as it's all up.

There's no use whining . . . that's what we have to do.

I finally made it to the town of Reserve. It looks charming. There's at least two restaurants. A store that Beth said had fresh cut meat and produce. Down the street I saw another grocery. I'd say the central business district was perhaps four blocks long. All of the buildings were attractively dilapidated, perhaps purposefully so?

My tailwind had turned into a gusting sidewind on Highway 12. That meant a firm hand on the handlebars. I took a right into a full headwind for a couple of blocks to the motel. I'm very happy we weren't heading south today. At the motel there were instructions to call them using the phone mounted on the wall. All I had to do was pick up the phone and it dialed the Adobe Cafe. Jennifer answered and told me the code to the lockbox on the wall. Inside were all of the room keys. We were in #2. The cleaning lady had just finished, the room smelled strongly of bleach. Perfect timing! I was in the room by noon.

I sent Jacinto a text and requested he stop at the grocery for a few things, since it was not convenient to the motel. He showed up perhaps an hour after I did. He didn't seem as happy with his day. I'm not sure why. He agreed there was a nice, tailwind, not so much traffic, etc. When pressed, Jacinto said his favorite day was the long day because it had trees. I think he liked it because he likes to suffer. But, trees are his answer.

We have a shuttle from the motel back to the Adobe Cafe for dinner. It should be good. My omelette was tasty for $9.99.

Jennifer's husband came and picked us up for dinner. They were also hosting a group of 50 motorcycle riders for a buffet dinner. I told Jacinto we should just ask if we could join in on the buffet. They got a ribeye steak and then a bunch of sides and dessert. I don't know what they paid. Things were crazy in the little restaurant, but the food was good. Definitely stop at the Adobe Cafe and Bakery if you are driving down Highway 78. The riders were still trickling in as we were driving back to the motel. I had no idea the group was so large. They had people in tents as well as lodging. We are lucky we got a room at all.

Today we had a strong tailwind. Tomorrow a cold front from the north is moving in. The wind is supposed to switch in the middle of the night and blow all morning. If we believe the forecast, the longer we wait in the morning, the more the wind will die down. According to Jacinto's app, the wind dies down about 11 AM. Mine says 1 PM. I'm not sure I put that much faith in the forecast. But I do plan on sleeping in tomorrow. It's going to be down in the 40's here. I brought long fingered gloves and a buff, but don't necessarily want to wear them!

My view for the beginning of the day. Make special note of the new pavement.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I have ridden past many ranches, but few have ornate gates. This was worth stopping for.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ponderosa pines, miles and miles of ponderosas!
Heart 0 Comment 0
We got a pass sign this time. It was a nice cruise, almost all in my middle chainring.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill? I saw these once and quick put the brakes on.Butteryfly milkweed, Bill says.https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asclepias_tuberosa?fbclid=IwAR1lX01JKxty0CKyc3Bzn44i8PKe_LrJypg_cf0YjqY3_6E9PkM8FA91Igo
Heart 0 Comment 0
A ribeye omelette at the Adobe Cafe. It was excellent.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This cutout reminds me of heading into Saguache from the south.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 441 miles (710 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0