Garden City, UT - Montpelier, ID - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2020

Garden City, UT - Montpelier, ID

Heart 0 Comment 0

494 elevation gain

I think I can see retired life in the near future! I had another alarm clock free morning and slept well. Jacinto said just don't look at the clock, pretend every morning is alarm clock free until it goes off. Yes, I would love to have his outlook on life . . .

We had agreed on a relaxed morning and breakfast at the neighboring restaurant, Cody's. They opened at 8 AM. We were there on time and could see an employee inside turning on many TVs. The patio area gates were chained closed. We could see the employee, she could see us, yet she didn't motion to us in any way. I was starting to get unhappy and thought about going back to the room for oatmeal. Only the thought of an omelet instead of oatmeal kept me standing there. The OPEN sign was on. What the heck. I pointed out to Jacinto that it said ENTRANCE with a big arrow. Here we were, standing by the gate. Then I looked around some more. I think we are supposed to go around to what would be considered the back of the building. We do.

The answer to why the entrance is in the back is because they serve alcohol and have to be XXX feet from the church. Upon reflection, I'm not sure what putting the front door in the back solves, but it must comply with a code issue.

We were the first customers in. This is a tourist town . . . it's interesting, when we were in Moab, everyone was up early and ready to go play. Here, they play in the water. It must be too cold early in the morning!

Jacinto ate his pancake and mine. He then declared they were so huge that he had to go the long way around to burn them off. His plan is to ride south and go around the lake on the other side. A piece of that route is dirt. He has the choice of riding a paved levee road that bisects the lake, or he can ride a dirt road from there to Montpelier. I debated riding the levee. I bet that would be a great ride. But it was 14 extra miles. Not that 44 miles is a killer day, but tomorrow is a big climbing day, so I'm saving my legs. Truth is, I'm lazy. But I will spin it the way Marilynn did when I was talking about that 10,000 foot climb to Hannagan Meadow. She said I should keep my eye on the goal of getting to the border. Not that 14 flat miles would wear me out - but it's a good excuse to not do extra miles. That's my answer and I'm sticking to it!

I was hoping to eat at 8 and leave at 9. That was the plan. I had things ready, but it was 9:40 when I left. Even Jacinto was bustling around. Our food had come out slowly. It was good. I saved half of mine for later. Just as we were finishing, a couple on loaded bikes pulled up. As we walked out, we said hello. They had ridden 85 miles yesterday and wild camped by the lake. They didn't get there until dark and ate Cheeze-it's for dinner. Their plan had been 60 miles, but they ran into a section of dirt and rerouted around the dirt. They had started in SLC and were headed for Jackson.

By the time I was out the door, there was a fairly strong west wind. How annoying. I like riding early to beat the wind. Today couldn't be flatter if I had a road grader driving in front of me. It was pretty, along the lake with several small towns for interest along the way. I told myself not to be whiny about the wind. It wasn't bad, just annoying . . . but it made my very easy day not as easy. Jacinto would say that's good, because working makes you stronger. He is correct, but I was planning on easy!

We are in Idaho now. Wyoming tomorrow, then back to Idaho. Soon we will be in Montana. That is for 11 days. We wind around a little because Jacinto hasn't seen the Chief Joseph Pass area.

My rear tire has held up for two days in a row. I've squeezed it more times than Grandma squeezes a baby's cheeks.

We are at the Clover Creek Motel. Our room is right next to the ice machine, which I consider a win. Our refrigerator wasn't working, but the cleaning ladies decided it was the plug in and they brought a power strip. It's a big room, good toiletries in the bathroom, nice bathroom. But the carpet really needs to go. I think it's been cleaned one time too many. Which is far better than never cleaned at all. They have breakfast here. It sounds like a hopeful selection. I will check it out in the morning. Oren, they have fruit cups. Also, Cody's restaurant had carrot cake for $9. a slice. I thought of you . . .

We met a couple who were riding from SLC to Jackson.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The northern end of Bear Lake is in Idaho. It isn't as commercially developed as the southern end. There are more marsh/swampy areas and birds. I passed an area called Dingle Swamp.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Paris, ID tabernacle is over 100 years old and is still in use.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This field was right across from the peace sign barn.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'll bet this is not owned by a crusty old rancher.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Montpelier, ID has an old movie theatre.
Heart 0 Comment 0
those sure look like pelicans. I saw seagulls in several places and I scared two long legged birds that I think were sandhill cranes. One called out as it flew away. It had an interesting call.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is at a boat ramp on the eastern side of the lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rodriguez Bike, Rohloff hub, belt drive.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scenery from the bike path.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scenery from the levee road.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 1,548 miles (2,491 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0