Driving, driving. - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2020

Driving, driving.

Before we left Grand Junction, we went to a bicycle shop and bought ANOTHER spare tire. Jacinto kept the first spare installed on his bike. He did patch the tube from yesterday, but has rejected the original tire as he couldn't find the source of the flat. It was just a couple of inches from the valve stem on the inside. Hmmm. That sounds like a spoke issue. I convinced Jacinto to take off the fresh tube/tire to check the rim. The rim tape looked good to both of us. It was an easy spot to check, being so close to the valve stem. We bought another rim tape along with the tire, just in case of continued issues.

We spent two leisurely days driving from Grand Junction, CO to Tucson, AZ with an overnight in Flagstaff, AZ. This was our first time renting a oneway minivan as opposed to a moving truck. We paid $216. total for the minivan. It was a more comfortable ride than a moving van with ~$60. spent on gas. The seats all folded into the floor, leaving the cargo area empty for our bicycles.

I haven't rented a car in some time. It was an extremely fast process. Perhaps 5 minutes? I had it reserved in advance. All I had to do was show my drivers license and credit card. Boom. Keys in hand. I did have to go back in and ask to have a note made about the cracked windshield. The minivan was a 2019 with 27,000 miles. Both older and higher mileage than I expected. Perhaps that's how they are able to rent so cheaply? They are keeping vehicles longer? This was a Budget Car rental.

We drove through Moab, Monument Valley, and Kayenta on our way to Flagstaff. It was interesting to look around at this area that we had toured last summer with Oren. We pointed out different sights to each other -"I took a photo of Hat Rock from right there" I said with glee.

I also noted the many COVID related signs as we drove through towns - Navajo Nation has nightly curfews and also a 57 hour weekend curfew that might effect us later in the trip as we pass through Chinle, Kayenta, and Mexican Hat. I called a couple of the motels and also the police station in Chinle asking for information on the lockdown. It is unfortunate that we are passing through on a weekend. I had earlier floated the idea with Jacinto that we move our trip up by three days to avoid the weekend. He dismissed the thought and I didn't push it. If things don't change in the next two weeks, we might have a three day layover in Chinle. I did check going around Navajo Nation, but it is far too large to go around easily by bicycle or even by car.

We made it to Tucson, stopping at a Panda Express for a lunch take out. Our Comfort Inn allowed us to check in at 11 AM. The room isn't the best I've seen, but the price was right, and we got in so early, I can't find much to complain about. We unloaded the van and drove to the Budget Car to drop off the van. We made it with 8 minutes to spare! It was again a fast process. The waiting attendant scanned a bar code from the window and we were done. It was a 108 degree walk back to the motel. It was just far enough to get sweaty and vow to bicycle very early in the morning.

I brought along a plastic cup for easy evening hydrating in motel rooms. I've lost it already. I wrote Tom and asked if he had something he could gift me. Even a reusable convenience store plastic cup would work.

Bicycle buddy, Steve is coming to pick us up and go out to dinner. It will be nice to see him again. That's our big entertainment for the afternoon. Jacinto has his bicycle all put back together. It's unusual for him to be organized in advance. I think that means he's bored.

Tom will be here at 6 AM, ready to ride. I will not be late. The forecast temperature is 75 degrees for that hour!

Monument Valley, shades in the afternoon sun.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There must still be a toilet paper shortage in Flagstaff. Luckily we did not suffer any bathroom emergencies in the night.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0