Hillsboro to Dayton to Salem to Lincoln City - The Beautiful Pacific - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2019 to August 8, 2019

Hillsboro to Dayton to Salem to Lincoln City

Sunrises, sunsets and everything in between

Earlier in the morning, I said my goodbyes and so longs to Rich and Yindi. Geri shuttled me to the train station in Gresham. I rode to Hillsboro to start my way back to riding with Kim on the coast. I was sure thankful to find a Starbucks at the end of the train. 

Never pass up a chance to go to the bathroom! Yay Starbucks...boo one needs a key for the upstairs bathroom. Omgosh!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Original plan of the day was to ride to Independence, Oregon from Hillsboro. After plenty of rolling hills, sunshine, little easement, cows, goats and logging trucks, 4pm rolled around while I took a break at the Grocery Outlet. Independence was looking like a no, after I sat down. I decided to reach out to a few warmshower hosts in the nearby area. Caye Poe and John Francis were available even on short notice and took me into their home in Dayton. I rode there via google maps, which took me to a gravel road that dead ended into a dog park and rock quarry. Poo poo google. Got myself out of that pickle and made it to my hosts home, before 730pm. 

Still smiling and I didn't even stop for wine!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Meeeehhh! These cuties at the gate along the Willamette Valley route.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mr. Big Guy the cat.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Let me again say what a wonderful community Warmshowers is. Fabulous, caring, kind people hosting touring cyclists. Caye and John are very physically fit and could pass for a couple in their early 60's. They still go on adventures, travel and volunteer together even though John's eyesight has diminished greatly. These two shared with me their love story. It certainly instills hope in this solo adventurer.❤ They were just a lovely couple who were still absolutely in love with each other. Hope. In the morning, we grabbed coffee and all headed out the door at 8am.

The back of Caye and John's card with super useful traveling websites geared toward the adventurous soul!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Rolling out into the mist of the morning headed to Salem.  The Willamette valley still beautiful as ever. I rolled into Salem around midday. Found a Carl's Jr along the route, stopped and had lunch.  Goodness I also found an AT&T store. Stopped in and personally fixed my phone. Not quite ready to buy a new one. Rolled through the city and awaited the Coastal Connector that runs from Salem to Lincoln City. $6 not a bad investment considering it put me back on route with Kim!

A vine that grew in the shape of a tree along a wall. A fine vine mural!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Salem!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Finally arriving at Devil's lake state park....yes that is the hill one must travel up to get to the hiker biker sites.
Heart 0 Comment 0

That night, Kim and I stayed at Devils Lake State Park in Lincoln City. Great set up for hiker biker sites...tools, bike stand, 7 bear boxes, benches, picnic tables, usb charging ports and clean showers. Had to rate the bathroom/site an A. Hot water, clean bathrooms and great sites close to the beach. We met a couple from Quebec who were cycling Vancouver to Crescent City with their teenage girls. Go Mom and Dad!

The only uneasiness I felt at the hiker biker sites were the couple strung out on drugs and one other biker who was not on tour, but needed place to sleep. Otherwise, it was a great experience.

Great Hiker Biker sites complete with bike tools, air pump, bike stand, bear boxes, benches and usb ports.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kim and I back together again!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunset on the beach! The sun came out this evening after a day of hiding in the clouds. Beautiful!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Our giggles abounded when we came upon this. Seaweed or whale sperm?
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a walk on the beach, Kim and I climbed the stairs out of the Tsunami zone and headed back to camp for restful nights sleep. Tomorrow's destination, Beverly Beach state park.

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 190 miles (306 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0