Rain: the storm arrives.: One of those days - Channel to Atlantic in France - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2017

Rain: the storm arrives.: One of those days

I awoke to rain. It varied from downpour to mist while I ate my croissant and drank my morning coffee, but it didn't stop. Leaving the hotel, I took refuge in an archway to get my rain poncho sorted out and make sure I had an idea of where I was headed because the paper map I was using would now be useless unless I could find shelters along the way. A short soggy ride along the coast got me to St. Vaast la Hougue where I spotted a brasserie just opening up. The owners were very kind and invited me to sit inside while they got things ready for the day. Turns out that they had just bought the place as a prelude to retirement. She was German and had spent many years working in England. With Brexit she had decide to move to France, which she found more welcoming, and plan for the time when she would be able to stop working. Her husband, who was rather taciturn, was Portuguese and bustled around the brasserie while I spoke with madame. I had a large coffee to delay going out into the rain a while longer. More people arrived in the shop, ordering coffee and talking with the couple of owners. When I thought I could wait no longer, I paid the bill and left.

Continuing south, I caught short glimpses of the coast through the mist before heading inland toward St. Sauver le Viscompte. I pulled up to the Auberge du Vieux Chateau, a hotel restaurant just at the entry to the town. Sopping wet and miserable, I decided to call it a day. I booked a room, and got a table for lunch. The fresh oysters, fish pie and home-made lemon tart helped brighten my spirits, and after a short nap, the rain let off for a while so I could explore the town.

The view from my room. Not too many pictures today. My camera doesn't like rain.
Heart 1 Comment 0
During a lull in the rain, i walked around town. The only "sight" is the chateau, and I visited it. As chateaux go, this one is rather ordinary. Or maybe I've just lived here too long and I'm no longer thrilled by them. Or it was the lousy weather. Anyway, I had a quick look around and retreated to the hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 km (30 miles)
Total: 170 km (106 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0