Feeling the effects?: Sables d'Olonne to Le Mans - Channel to Atlantic in France - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2017

Feeling the effects?: Sables d'Olonne to Le Mans

Dehli belly, Montezuma's revenge, the Tallahassee two-step, call it what you will it got me last night. Not to be too graphic, but it looked like a sh---ty day ahead. As fate would have it though, I felt fine by morning. So with a good breakfast to replace lost calories, I got packed up. The first order of business was to rinse the accumulated sand and grime off the bike. After I got the bike reasonably clean, I loaded the panniers and set off for Talmont St. Hilaire.

Think I'm crazy? This guy was riding his unicycle from Roscoff to Hendaye along EuroVelo1. I caught up to him in traffic and was able to ask a few questions, but he couldn't stop easily so we didn't really get to chat. I tried going ahead and waiting, but somewhere in Sables d'Olonne we got separated and I never saw him again.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A castle that guards the entrance to the harbor in Sables d'Olonne.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sands for which Sables d'Olonne is named. The beach was being groomed for the vacationers who would arrive later.
Heart 1 Comment 0
More sand. Looking in the direction of Talmont.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got to Talmont in short order and stopped for a cup of coffee and a stamp on my route card. Talmont was the furthest south I wanted to go and I had to make a decision about the rest of the tour. I could return to Brittany, go north to Angers, or head for home. Still feeling the effects of the previous night, I chose the later course. The nearest railway station was back in Sables d'Olonne, so I retraced my steps to the outskirts of the city and then headed for the station. I got a ticket for Nantes, a sandwich, and a coke and got on the Train. In Nantes I checked my options, again. I could get home either through Tours or Paris. I decided on Paris because there was a train to Le Mans leaving shortly and from there I could get to Paris in the morning. Going to Tours would put me in a delicate situation vis-à-vis the trains because tomorrow would be Sunday when they run a reduced schedule. I rode a quick circuit of Nantes to kill time before the train, and then I was off to Le Mans.

In Le Mans I went looking for a hotel and eventually settled on one next to the station. I took the tram to the city center to find supper, which was not memorable. And so to bed.

Today's ride: 44 km (27 miles)
Total: 821 km (510 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0