Cleaning up my act: Combourg to Montauban de Bretagne - Channel to Atlantic in France - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2017

Cleaning up my act: Combourg to Montauban de Bretagne

The hotel staff did not seem to be terribly well organized this morning. Some overnight arrivals were at the front desk when I went down complaining that they had been given the keys to an occupied room. This had caused a certain amount of confusion, as might be imagined, and led to a delay in getting breakfast as the entire staff was needed to sort it all out. Finally getting away by 8:30, I rode the short distance to Tinténiac where I spotted a laundromat. Being that I was in the last of my clean clothes, I decided to make use of the facilities.

The hour or so it takes to wash and dry was occupied in conversation with the other users of the laundromat. One tattooed and be-ringed young woman was particularly interested in my bike. Turns out that she was as adventurous as her piercings and tattoos were outrageous. She told me about her trek from France to Croatia with a donkey, her tour of South America in a VW microbus that she bought second hand in Bogota, and her desire to try bicycle touring. I responded to her questions as best I could pointing her to some useful web sites. I also had time to dash across the parking lot to a supermarket and pick up some maps as I was about to go over the edge on mine.

After finishing my laundry, I rode through les Iffs and came upon this ornate chapel. It used to belong to the chateau des Iffs, which is hidden from view behind stone walls and forest.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch was a sandwich, pastry and coke in Irodouer. The church provided shelter from the wind, which was beginning to become rather strong. The weather cock is pointing in the direction I want to go, of course.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After lunch I rode into the wind, but after only a few kilometers as I got to Montauban de Bretagne, I decided to call it a day. I checked into the only hotel in town and took a nap. After the snooze, I wandered around town a bit, sat in a bar sipping a beer and writing up my notes, and waiting for supper time. That consisted of pizza, there being nothing else open but the pizzeria. And then an early evening, and sleep.

Today's ride: 43 km (27 miles)
Total: 350 km (217 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0