Getting home on a wet day - Touring on an electrified Crank Forward bike - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2021

Getting home on a wet day

Well, it looks like my first 2021 tour has ended. I'm 90 miles fr0m home and about 50 miles from where my wife normally picks me up in Hot Springs, NC. The road between Asheville and Hot Springs is now too dangerous for me to be willing to ride it. The routes from here to Hot Springs are fine, but today there is a lot of rain and a hazardous weather warning for this area so I've asked my wife to drive an extra hundred miles, round trip, to avoid wet roads and the slight possibility of my having to ride in the very strong straight line winds that may be associated with the storms. The original idea  was we'd meet up on the roadway , but that road is pretty wet today so just having her pick me up from the Budget Inn means that we won't have to deal with having to load a wet/dirty bicycle in my wife's car.

It has been a challenging short tour, because of my age, the time since my last tour, the CF bike, and, COVID-19 resurgence. As soon as I get home I'll be calling MAHEC - my health care providers - to set up yet another - my third - COVID test and to deal with some saddle related issues due to the new kind of seat on the CF bike.

This tour was successful in its primary objective. It got me back on the road after a two year absence and, although it was harder and took longer than I expected,it got my mind/body working in bicycling machine mode on the CF bike. It also got me back in touch with people I've known for years through earlier bicycle tours and introduced me to new friends . Waiting for my wife to come pick me up also provided more time for visiting  with my host here. My host was, of course, the owner of the Budget Inn, but our relationship has definitely become more host/guess than owner/customer.

One of the most striking things about this tour was that I did not see ANY other bike tourists on the road and saw hardly any other adult bicyclists. I had hoped that, with the well documented new demand for bicycles, I'd see some evidence of more bicycling. I didn't. 

I now hope/plan to ride this route, probably with minor mods like the different road to London, again in the fall. Now that I am more comfortable touring on my CF bike, I should be OK with doing the really steep climbing between Nashville IN and Bloomington IN. The fact that the weather would be a lot cooler will also make that more pleasant.

Now, being back in Asheville after a roughly 100 mile drive from Bean Station, feels like being in a totally different world. It is actually comfortable both inside and out with low humdity and Temperatures in the 70's. This morning at the cafe in Bean Station at 7 AM it was warmer and MUCH more humid than it is now, almost 13 hours later in Asheville. 

On the other hand. I do really miss the people I met and  got to know, or know better, while on this tour!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Halûk OkurWell done Mark. I'm addicted to your tour reports.

Keep them coming...
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Adam KanczulaGood stuff Mark, well done!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mark BoydTo Adam KanczulaIn Mount Vernon KY, my host - motel owner and now friend - said I should "write a book about my tours". I responded that I already had written the equivalent of a number of books as web pages. My ride reports web pages from 1995 to 2011 are on my university web server and from 2011 to 2018 are on crazyguy. The url for university bicycling pages and my user id for crazyguy are part of my CycleBlaze profile. Both sites have hundreds of web pages That I created on tours in North America and Europe. Those web pages are my collective touring memory.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Adam KanczulaTo Mark BoydI have visited your website(s) many times over the last 20 plus years and enjoyed your tour reports and "bike tinkering" immensely. In fact from the your website to Touring@Phred.org to Crazyguyonabike and now Cycleblaze. You really have provided a wealth of information over many years! However, it seems that you had more problems posting on Cycleblaze than on previous platforms?
Similar to you, but not as extensive, I've also "journaled" many of my bike travels (now on WordPress at adamk.ca) and it is a wonderful way for me to relive those tours that have many wonderful memories of places and people. And hopefully, others are vicariously "riding along!"
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mark BoydTo Adam KanczulaI like CycleBlaze and reading touring journals on it, but writing on it has been very frustrating. Just last night I was looking the 19 pages I have created here and, when I spotted a typo or grammatical error, fixing it and moving on. I'd gone through half a dozen pages when I realized I had been wasting my time since , without thinking, I hadn't saved any of those pages after I corrected them. I didn't go back and redo the edits. Why should I have to think about saving changes? My job is to make changes to fix or improve my pages. The website's job is to store the changes I made . Last night was just one small example of the many times I've wasted my time making changes here that were never saved.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago