First day on the road - Touring on an electrified Crank Forward bike - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2021

First day on the road

My loaded bike with its seat covered in a plastic bag in case we need t ride in the rain. I didn't even notice this seat protection while riding.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Detail showing tent pole/dog stick/bike stand in use. I later added zip ties to the front pannier clamps that keep the panniers as far forward as possible while not interfering with pannier removal.
Heart 0 Comment 0

My first day of touring on my e-biked CF bike went well in that the forecast storms never came and I was able to make use of my e-bikes low level of assist to help me get on down the road pretty well in spite of my advanced age and the fact that I there were some steep hills. I averaged just over 10 mph for the 38 miles I rode today. I had hoped too reach Bean Station today, but stopped about 5 miles south of Morristown TN or 15 miles south of Bean Station. I stopped because I was quite tired and there was an OK priced Motel 8 as well as other services here, where US 25 E crosses I-81. This was actually my last good alternative before Morristown where I have stopped before, but am not fond of, and Bean station. There is only one motel in Bean Station, The Budget Motel, which may, or may not, still be open. That uncertainty was part of my reason for stopping early

Tomorrow I expect to ride through Bean station - and find if the Budget Motel is still open since it is the only place to stay there - and then hopefully on to Tazwell TN for another hilly 40 mile day. Thorn Hill, which is the biggest single hill on this route starts just after Bean station. 

There are a couple of lodging options in Tazwell and I have stayed at both of them before, so I hope at least one of them is still open, The next day, I'll head for The Cumberland Gap and hopefully stay in Middlesboro Kentucky.

My riding day started, as it has three or four times before, with my wife giving me a ride from our home in north Asheville through Hot Springs, NC and on to the TN border on US 25. I used to ride to that point from home, but for at least a decade, that route has been too dangerous to ride. For those reading this on the touring list that remember my friends Dick Boyd and Earl Norman, they actually rode - really mostly walked - to my house from Hot Springs after it had become too dangerous. I had told them I would drive over to get them that afternoon because it was too dangerous to ride (!) but they rode/walked it. It took them 8 hours to cover 32 miles. When I got home that afternoon, they were waiting for me. I thought then and still think now, that they were lucky to survive that adventure!

Entering TN not long after I started riding on US 25
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Coming down to the French Broad River on Fugate Rd which runs on the opposite side of the river form US 25/70

Heart 0 Comment 0
Fugate Rd is great. Flat and peaceful riding alongside the railroal tracks
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The  Del Rio sign for trains

Heart 0 Comment 0

Turning to cross the river after Del Rio

Looking back up the river from the bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Much later, reaching the big new 25E bridge after the big lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking down the French Broad River where it is really broad
Heart 0 Comment 0
My last look at the river from the big bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Earlier: Looking at part of the lake formed from the river
Heart 0 Comment 0
This image is from right after I got back on 25 after crossing the first bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 38 miles (61 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Sandra LawnHi Mark

Thanks for sharing your transition from pedal power to pedal assist power. Its something I am thinking about. It’s the way of the future for us older cyclists and for anyone younger who wants to achieve a cycle goal within their capabilities.

Enjoy your tour from New Zealand

Cheers
Sandy
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mark BoydTo Sandra LawnThe page I just posted is, in part, a response to your comment.

Mark
Reply to this comment
2 years ago