Vienna Airport to the Apple Store (Sept. 12, 2022) - CentralEurope - CycleBlaze

September 12, 2022

Vienna Airport to the Apple Store (Sept. 12, 2022)

We rode into downtown Vienna almost entirely on cycleways but it wasn’t scenic. We saw the industrial side of Vienna. We enjoyed it nonetheless as it provided an interesting juxtaposition to the rural landscapes we've been riding through up to this point. We arrived at the Apple Store just before noon. 

So, I dread these technology interactions (since I don’t enjoy technology) and it’s a time where I really regard Dave as huge value-added! (DC: Nice to know I'm needed.) 

The whole Apple thing mystifies me and I was so relieved that he was the one to go in and talk to the tech folks while I lingered to watch our bikes. We were in the center of Vienna and suddenly after 6 weeks of not worrying about stuff, we felt like we had better be on alert. Eventually the tech people suggested we haul our panniers inside and we wound up nesting on an interior bench for two hours while they sorted out my iPad. Which they did, but it did require the dreaded factory reset and then reloading all my apps etc. While we were in app loading mode Dave went across the street to get something go eat and met a couple from Big Sky, Montana. That morning we had just booked a New Years trip with my family to Big Sky - so they had a nice visit. 

We wrapped up Apple in time to ride to our Airbnb flat in southwest Vienna. I’ll tell you about it in my next entry. We are in Vienna for a week, so you may not hear from us for a few days!

Today's ride: 20 km (12 miles)
Total: 1,250 km (776 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Kathleen ClassenSo happy it got sorted. Electronics are a blessing and a curse.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jill GelineauTo Kathleen ClassenThanks, we have pretty much concluded that we just need to have European chargers and agree with that suggestion. The problem is Dave’s random other items that were purchased in the US: toothbrush, electric shaver, camera. I have gently suggested he could manage with a regular toothbrush and a straight shaver but even I can’t suggest he leave his camera at home or purchase something different to use in
Europe! It’s to near and dear to his heart.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenWe have a Rube Goldberg sort of arrangement that we bring with us which consists of a three outlet North American plug and an adaptor. We haven’t needed to use it this year so it pretty much dead weight. I wish I could beam it to you! We do leave our electric toothbrushes at home, and this year we left the camera behind too. Keith’s new iPhone takes outstanding pictures.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago