Las Lajas to Santiago, Panama - Central America - CycleBlaze

January 27, 2023

Las Lajas to Santiago, Panama

It was so hot and humid this morning.  But that air conditioner felt so good last night.  I woke up and opened the curtains to look outside but could not see anything because there was so much condensation on the outside of the double pane glass door. That's how humid it was.  The day started with a wonderful breakfast by Romona at the guest house in Las Lajas.  I could have stayed there (Residence Las Lajas) another night to check out the pool and hot tub, but must move on in order to get back to work soon. 

After that wonderful breakfast, I hit the road about 7:30, and by 8:30, I was completely drenched in sweat.  It only got worse from there as I battled the hills and the day getting warmer. There was hardly any breeze. But at least, no rain clouds either, which I suppose is good and bad. Just more of the same type of scenery today, so not a lot of pictures today.  It was just another scorcher of a day, with 5,000 feet total elevation, and some headwind.

There is just a whole lotta nothin’ between Las Lajas and Santiago, Panama.  It reminded me of the long flat stretches of Mexico, although it was a bit more scenic here because of the mountains.  Highway one continues to be a great cycling highway. If it weren't for the rumble strip, and maybe a little more cleanup maintenance, it would be just about perfect.  I did see something strange today though. I saw a Panamanian motorcycle police on the side of the road hiding in the shade with a radar gun.  That was unusual itself, as I have not seen that yet in central America, but what was really odd is that even though he hid his motorcycle in the shade. He would walk out in the middle of the highway and point the radar gun at people coming to him! Literally right in the middle of the two lanes of oncoming traffic.  So, that doesn’t seem to be very stealthy. I didn't take a picture obviously.   Then I passed by a car with a couple of German girls pulled over by a motorcycle officer and the shouted at me as I was going by that they had seen me yesterday! They didn't seem to be too bothered by the policeman. 

A short post tonight as I am just beat from the heat and hills today.  Still not completely recovered from the hike in Boquete, but only one more long day tomorrow for the rest of the trip.

A couple milestones worth mentioning: 

  1. Last night was the furthest south I will have been in the whole journey.  Now, just further east. 
  2. 4,000 views of this journal!  I feel like you are along side me on the ride - thank you!  Actually - and no offense, but sometimes, I feel like I am pulling you behind me :)

First course from Romana - fruit plate
Heart 1 Comment 0
Then eggs, cheese, yogurt, toast with homemade jam, and cake. Yum!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I have not seen any chicken buses in Panama yet, just these types. Not even any school buses - but maybe they don't go on the Pan-American.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Staying in Santiago tonight
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hey, I am 250km away from my end destination! The math does not work out the same on these two signs, but close enough I suppose.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I just liked the flowers here
Heart 0 Comment 0
Coming down the last of the two big hills from my 5,000 ft day today - the last big hill of the journey!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scenes from coming into Santiago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My hotel tonight. Do you know what's great about this picture? You know it - the golden arches at the top!
Heart 0 Comment 0
They have a lot of rooms here!
Heart 0 Comment 0
And look - they installed bike ramps at the stairs!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first Big Mac in years! Sometimes, its just nice to have some comfort food to start to transition back to US life. After this, I got a 20-piece McNugget Combo to take back to my hotel room to finish my post with.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I like the outdoor sports recommendation from my Weather Bug app!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 79 miles (127 km)
Total: 1,897 miles (3,053 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0