Day 44: Illinois river to Grants Pass - Tour de Cascadia 2011 - CycleBlaze

September 28, 2011

Day 44: Illinois river to Grants Pass

The tour's not finished yet. I still need to pedal to Grants Pass where my wife will pick me up in a car.

49F early in the morning. Once again the sky was mostly clear with a bit of fog over the river. I got on the road at 8:25.

Morning sun at the campsite on the Illinois river.
Heart 1 Comment 0

First was 3 miles on the Forest Road back to US 199. That road climbs a bluff that gives a good view of the Siskiyou mountains that I crossed yesterday.

Looking southeast at the Siskiyou range.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back on US 199 I did the easy climb to 1640 foot Hayes Hill summit. Then it was mostly downhill to Grants Pass.

Applegate river southwest of Grants Pass.
Heart 1 Comment 0

In Grants Pass I stopped for a few minutes in Riverside Park to look at the Rogue river for the last time and to change clothes. The tour ended across the street at 11:30 at El Paraiso Mexican restaurant. My wife and I had lunch, then we drove home to Oakland, Oregon, 90 miles north. I chose not to bike all the way home because the direct route north from Grants Pass includes 35 miles on I-5, with four named summits.

Rogue river in Grants Pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rogue river in Grants Pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was home at 2 PM and was completely unpacked by the end of the day.

Distance: 28.2 mi. (45 km)
Climbing: 1068 ft. (324 m)
Average Speed: 11.7 mph (18.7 km/h)

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 2,156 miles (3,470 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0