Day 3: Goldmyer Hot Spring to Tolt Memorial Park - Tour de Cascadia 2011 - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2011

Day 3: Goldmyer Hot Spring to Tolt Memorial Park

Route map for days 3-5, from Goldmyer hot spring to Baker hot spring. Terrain view looks best.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I got up at 7 and hiked up the hill for a long soak at Goldmyer hot spring. I had the pools to myself for the first hour. I got back to the campsite at 10:15 and was on the road just before noon after a long conversation with Katie and other visitors.

I got back to the Dingford creek trailhead at 12:45. The 21 miles of gravel was easier going downstream, but there was still a huge climb between Dingford Creek and Taylor creek.

Dingford creek, hemmed in by the forest.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Middle Fork Snoqualmie river and Middle Fork road.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Stumps indicate how grand the forest once was.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The miles went by much faster after returning to pavement, backtracking on highway 202 through North Bend and Snoqualmie to Fall City.

Downtown North Bend, Washington.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Railroad museum in Snoqualmie.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rolling stock at the railroad museum in Snoqualmie.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped again at Snoqualmie falls and had a better sun angle this time because it was later in the day.

Snoqualmie Falls in afternoon sun.
Heart 2 Comment 0

In Fall City I turned north on highway 203, no longer backtracking now, but still going downstream along the Snoqualmie river. Traffic was heavy. I had to wait a very long time to cross the road to a fruit stand to buy cherries. I'm well inland but in a low valley that is less than 100 feet (30m) elevation.

The weather was sunny with a high of 75F and light wind. Delightful cycling weather. But I did not enjoy highway 203 because the traffic is nonstop, the shoulder is only 1 to 2 feet wide, and the scenery was mostly suburban sprawl.

I got a $20 campsite at Tolt Memorial Park, a King county park near the town of Carnation. The camping area is across the Snoqualmie river from highway 203. To get to the campground you have to cross the river on a pedestrian footbridge. With no cars nearby, the camping area was very tranquil for such a suburban location. I noticed that every campsite is reserved for the upcoming weekend, indicating that area campgrounds will probably be full the next two nights.

Footbridge to the campground at Tolt county park.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I never felt very strong today. The gravel roads of the last two days wore me out more than usual.

Distance: 44.5 mi. (71 km)
Climbing: 906 ft. (275 m)
Average Speed: 10.5 mph (16.8 km/h)
Hiking: 2 mi. (3.2 km)

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 112 miles (180 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0