Day 27: Cape Lookout to Lincoln City - Tour de Cascadia 2011 - CycleBlaze

September 11, 2011

Day 27: Cape Lookout to Lincoln City

The sky was clear at sunrise, but fog rolled in before I got on the road at 9:10. The day's ride starts with an 800 foot climb up Cape Lookout. I stayed bundled up even though the grade was a steep 8%. I got very cold during the descent to Sand Lake road in 50F dense fog.

Sort of sunny in the morning.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWhen I biked down the Oregon coast, we had tailwinds the whole way, thank God!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

I stayed cold while pedaling on flat Sand Lake road. Today the wind is blowing from the south, so I have a headwind all day.

Event of some kind on the beach.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the only place I noticed a south-only shoulder.
Heart 1 Comment 0

In Pacific City I took a long lunch stop to warm up. Great fish tacos at the taco stand/surf shop. I only felt warm after sitting an hour in a sunny area sheltered from the wind.

After Pacific City the highway was in the sun going around Nestucca bay, but with a brisk south headwind. The Three Capes Scenic Route ends, putting me back on busy US 101.

Nestucca bay.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After Neskowin I turned left onto Slab Creek road and began the day's second big climb. It's longer and more gently graded than the highway, but the summit is the same elevation, about 800 feet. It was delightful to ride through lush forest with absolutely no traffic. I don't enjoy the constant traffic on US 101.

Overlook near Lincoln City. The fog is nearby and could drift ashore at any time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Clouds obscure the mountains when looking inland.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dreary Lincoln City.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThe coast is always cold - brr! I found that a fleece jacket helped immensely.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

I rolled in to Lincoln City at 4 PM. It was 55F, dense overcast, with a brisk headwind. There is a great hiker/biker site at the far end of town, but I've been cold all day and wasn't in the mood to camp in cold fog and wind. So I got a $54 room at Captain Cook Inn. I was asleep by 8 PM.

I only pedaled 44 miles today but the cold headwind sapped my energy.

Distance: 44.1 mi. (70.6 km)
Climbing: 2433 ft. (737 m)
Average Speed: 9.6 mph (15.4 km/h)

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 1,334 miles (2,147 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0