Day 16: Pleasant Valley to Ohanapecosh campground - Tour de Cascadia 2011 - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2011

Day 16: Pleasant Valley to Ohanapecosh campground

Today's route from Pleasant Valley campground to Ohanapecosh campground. Terrain view is best.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The summit isn't actually unpaved. Google maps won't auto-route over the summit during winter when the pass is closed. I need to fix the map during summer.

45F overnight, brisk. I got on the road at 8:40. No hurry because I'm not going far today. On the road it was 50F, dense overcast. The road climbs steadily for 12 miles to 5432 foot Chinook pass.

Looking back while climbing to Chinook pass.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The temperature dropped to 48F by the time I got to the pass at noon. I could see fog spilling over the summit, but I presumed that the fog would go away quickly during the descent, and that the temperature would warm up.

Looking ahead at fog spilling over Chinook pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0
6452-foot Naches peak was the only mountain visible from 5432-foot Chinook pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I forgot that I'm crossing from the dry east side to the much wetter west side. Immediately after Chinook pass I was in dense fog for 5 miles. The temperature dropped to 41F even as I lost elevation. I was bundled up, but descending in 41F fog is very cold.

Construction workers finishing a new Pacific Crest Trail bridge over highway 410 at Chinook pass.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Fog greets me when entering Mount Rainier National Park.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The roadside flowers were amazing during the descent from Chinook Pass to Cayuse pass. Best flowers of the tour, by far.

Spectacular roadside wildflowers between Chinook pass and Cayuse pass.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Descending through fog.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWow, a little scary I'm sure when you were riding through the dense fog in Mt. Ranier Park.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

At Cayuse pass I turned left towards Ohanapecosh campground, away from highway 410.

I was getting extremely cold descending through the fog, so it was a relief to finally get below the fog after 5 miles. I lost 3500 feet elevation descending to Ohanapecosh, and the temperature did finally warm up gradually once I was out of the fog. Up to 53F when I arrived at the Ohanapecosh campground at 1 PM.

Finally a view below the fog.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Roadside waterfall. On the wet side of the Cascades again.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Campsite at Ohanapecosh campground overlooking the Ohanapecosh river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I set up my campsite and got into the sleeping bag for 50 minutes to warm up. That made me feel much better.

Then I hiked 4 miles on the Silver Falls loop trail. It was great to walk through the lush forest after spending 8 days on the east side of the Cascades.

Ohanapecosh river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ohanapecosh hot spring. People aren't allowed to soak or improve it. I'm told that elk like it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The sky stayed overcast all day, but the temperature warmed up to 58F late in the afternoon. Ohanapecosh is in a steep canyon with a dense forest canopy, so it seldom gets hot.

Silver Falls trail.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Today's wildlife sighting.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Silver Falls on the Ohanapecosh river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Returning to the campground on the Silver Falls loop trail.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The Ohanapecosh river is amazingly clear. From my campsite I can clearly see the bottom in a section that is 20 feet deep. It's a stark contrast to the milky glacial streams in most of Mount Rainier National Park.

The Ohanapecosh river is crystal clear, definitely NOT glacial runoff.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made a big mug of Land O' Lakes hot chocolate to take with me to the 8 PM ranger presentation about plants and animals of the old growth forest.

Definitely no solar charging opportunities today. No Verizon wireless service tonight or last night.

Distance: 29.7 mi. (47.5 km)
Climbing: 2185 ft. (662 m)
Average Speed: 8.8 mph (14.1 km/h)
Hiking: 4 mi. (6.4 km)

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 752 miles (1,210 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0