Day 14: Yakima canyon to Naches - Tour de Cascadia 2011 - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2011

Day 14: Yakima canyon to Naches

Route from Yakima canyon to Pleasant valley campground, days 14 and 15. Terrain view is very illustrative.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Overnight the temperature only got down to 60F. Probably the warmest night of the trip.

I got on the road at 8:15 and the canyon wall kept the road in nearly constant shade as I continued 13 miles south through the canyon towards Yakima. The views of Yakima canyon were awesome.

Yakima canyon.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Yakima canyon
Heart 1 Comment 0
Yakima canyon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leaving Yakima canyon.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was obvious that I wouldn't have much shade after leaving the canyon. The temperature soared when I left the shade of the canyon. There were a few orchards now that the valley is wide and flat.

Espalier apple orchard.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The route goes almost into the city of Yakima. Where Canyon road merges with I-82 I exited onto several residential streets that connect to South Wenas road which goes northwest to Naches through a remote valley.

Wenas road northwest of Yakima.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was no shade on the road and the temperature was in the 90's by late morning. A northwest headwind was building, so that helped cool me down a bit.

View from Wenas road.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After 10 miles upstream in the valley, South Wenas road climbs a steep 500 foot hill, then steeply descends 400 feet to Naches. It was interesting to climb from the irrigated Wenas creek valley to a desert hilltop, then down to the irrigated Naches river valley.

Looking back at the Wenas creek valley.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Descent to the Naches river valley and town of Naches.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In Naches I wandered all over town to find a restaurant that's open on Monday. I finally found it, and had a very long lunch stop due to the slow service. I didn't mind because I wasn't in the mood to go much further today. My original plan was to go another 20 miles upstream and camp in the forest. But the weather forecast calls for 25 mph northwest wind this afternoon and the route goes northwest, straight into the wind.

After lunch I got a room at the Naches Hotel downtown. It took a long time for the air conditioner to cool the room. I slept from 2:45 until 6:15 PM. When I woke up it was much cooler outside and the northwest wind was very strong. Better to sleep through the cold front than ride into it!

Heat won't be a problem anytime soon. The temperature dropped 20 degrees and I will climb back to high elevation and dense forest.

Distance: 34.7 mi. (55.5 km)
Climbing: 1775 ft. (538 m)
Average Speed: 9.1 mph (14.6 km/h)

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 677 miles (1,090 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0