Nowhere - North from Casablanca - CycleBlaze

April 21, 2012

Nowhere

another night in Cangas

The Sidreria bar just around the corner from the hotel offers the chance to try something different, so I take it. As tradition dictates, the barman pours the drink at arm's length and my tumbler gets filled just an inch each time, as though it were a good Scotch, not good old-fashioned cider. Wondering if I'm heading for a serious hangover, I check the label and feel relieved to see the drink is only six percent.

The ripe cheese and bottled brew are nice, both local specialties, but the former keeps me from getting a good night's sleep. Relatively clearheaded at breakfast, it's a time for a decision: if the rain hasn't ceased by early afternoon, I'll throw in the proverbial towel and get another bus, this time to the ferry port of Santander, and get out of Spain. 

The predicted spell of sunshine never arrives
Heart 0 Comment 0

Enough is enough.

If only it was as easy getting a bus out as it was in. Checking the ARAS company's online bus schedule, travelling east to Santander involves a couple of changes - first in Arriondas and then Llanes, on the coast. 

It's Sunday.

Even riding the short distance - just 7 km - in the rain to Arriondas isn't appealing and my decision is to put off making a decision for another few hours. 

Treat
Heart 0 Comment 0

Four o'clock comes around and rain is still falling - I book back into the hotel that I've never actually left.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0