Midelt to Nador (by bus) - North from Casablanca - CycleBlaze

March 15, 2012

Midelt to Nador (by bus)

taxi to Milella and ferry to Spain

Starting with a 10-hour bus ride and followed by an overnight boat trip: it isn't a day to get excited about. 

My hotel in Midelt
Heart 3 Comment 0

The bus ticket to Nador is 100dh, plus 50 for the bike and bags: pretty cheap (total about 15 euros).

The countryside switches from rolling plains to forested slopes and it looks like I've seen the best of what Morocco has to offer, although it has to be said that my tour has been a real challenge. 

The bus goes via Fez, after which the terrain levels out and it feels good to be whizzing along, albeit with a numb bottom from having to sit for so long.

Heart 1 Comment 0

The taxi driver starts with 250dh for the ride to Melilla port, about 15km away from Nador's bus station, but comes down to 150dh once I've clipped my panniers on and am about to set off. It's still more than I want to pay, but as we head along the highway in the dark, it doesn't seem such a bad deal. Riding, what with a slow puncture, would have been an unpleasant experience. As it is he drives me through Moroccan and Spanish passport control and customs, dropping me off directly outside the ferry building's entrance.

Knowing you're about to leave the country and that the banks are closed, the money changers loitering around the port have you over a barrel. Left with around 700dh, all I get was 55 euros, which is basically 20 euros light.

The real bad news is there are no seats on the midnight sailing to Malaga. The clerk says come back later - at around 10:00 -  so I go and have a coffee and use the laptop until then - or so I think. Spain being one hour ahead, it's subsequently after 11 when I waltz across to see if I am in luck. Bingo - they sell me a seat ticket (37 euros) and it's than a dash to get aboard, with the ship's tailgate ready to be winched up as I wheel my bike up it.

Today's ride: 1 km (1 miles)
Total: 303 km (188 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0