Into the Cotswolds to Evesham - North from Casablanca - CycleBlaze

May 24, 2012

Into the Cotswolds to Evesham

via Stanton

The forecast is for more sunshine, but the overcast sky at 8:30 doesn't bode well and after Liz's hearty breakfast I linger in my room using the Wi-fi until 10 o'clock, when it's really time to check out and hit the road - regardless of the weather.

The Plaisterers Arms, where I stayed for 40 quid
Heart 0 Comment 0

I turn off the road going north and pause at a pottery workshop in dinky Greet. Just up the road I hear the distinct chuffing sound of a steam train and soon find where it's coming from. 

A bridge over the tracks gives a good view of the station at Gretton where the locomotive has come to a halt. Once it's begun its journey and chuffed its way out of sight, I cruise down to take a look at the lovingly renovated place, all fresh paintwork and old enamel signs. Having a look makes a nice 15-minute break.

Heart 0 Comment 0

A country mansion owned by Lord somebody has a coach parked at it's grand entrance and the driver tells me he's brought a small group of Italians, who are inside the private home having a look around - by appointment. 

The thick wood door is ajar so I sneak inside for a quick look myself, just to see how the other half lives.

Heart 2 Comment 0

The spot which Frank Patterson sketched of Stanton hasn't changed and the whole village is the sort of place you see depicted on chocolate boxes - cottages and houses with thatched roofs and no real sign of the 20th century apart from the few cars parked here and there.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Before reaching the village of Broadway, I stop to buy a jar of honey from a house with a sign outside saying it's on sale - Cotswolds honey. It's 3 quid a jar so I buy two, one for Ruby and one for Dave.

The drawing Patterson did of Broadway is one I'd completely forgotten about and I stop there simply to get a bite to eat, and enjoy a wholesome bowl of soup followed by delicious crumble and custard in The Swan. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

The village is a busy place with tourists milling around and the main road to Evesham is also busy and I make a right after a couple of miles, riding through Badsey.

The Vale bike shop at the edge of Evesham reminds me I need a spare inner-tube and a new one is five quid when I expected it to cost no more than three. They're cheap in Taiwan.

Gravestone of George Washington's English relative
Heart 0 Comment 0

The place Patterson drew is at the end of the High Street and the timber-framed building and alley look pretty much the same and I take a few snaps before riding off to the train station. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

The 4:20 train is pulling out when I get there and the next one doesn't arrive until after 6:00. 

Getting back to Lincoln means changing in Birmingham and Nottingham, with my final train not arriving until almost midnight. 

It feels like crossing continental Europe is faster.

Today's ride: 41 km (25 miles)
Total: 3,083 km (1,915 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0