Goian - North from Casablanca - CycleBlaze

April 7, 2012

Goian

east from A Garda, Spain's most southwestern point

I ride towards a place named A Garda and the road sweeps up a slow climb for a couple of kilometers and from there a sign for the town of Tui greets me. It's slightly northeast and inland, where yesterday's especially dark clouds had lingered and sure enough my wheels roll towards them. Tui is round 30 km away; a couple of hours of cycling at least.

Route 550 is wide. It's one of those A-to-B sort of roads; nothing to get excited about. 

I'm going to B wherever it is and it turns out to be just a dozen kilometres, because a sign for double rooms at 25 euros gets my attention and with those clouds looking more and more iffy, this is far enough, thank you very much.

Heart 0 Comment 0

It's 20 euros for the single room. Nice.

The in-house restaurant is closed, so later - after 8 - I wander down into the actual village - Goain - and find the bat the owner of the B&B recommended.

The draught beer is a local brew - at least it's suffixed with the word Galicia, and I have two big ones to go with my salad and tortilla... a massive pile of food that I somehow get through, probably to the amazement of the staff.

My room for 20 euros
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 12 km (7 miles)
Total: 1,680 km (1,043 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0