(Another) Rest day - North from Casablanca - CycleBlaze

March 28, 2012

(Another) Rest day

Marvão

I can't seem to wake up and feel totally dopey at the buffet breakfast just after nine and it's gone 10 when I go for a walkabout and, with the sun being low and a chilly wind blowing through the empty alleys, it's cold enough to make me wish I'd put my fleece jacket on.

Marvão
Heart 0 Comment 0

Although a very beautiful village, it looks like there are numerous homes standing empty, waiting for a builder to renovate them. 

The view north from the ramparts - the direction I'd be heading soon enough - is endless and my legs felt sluggish, making it a wise decision to take a day off. There are more mountains over there.

Close to the border with Spain and dating back to the Muslim era, picturesque Marvão is over 800 metres high and is encircled within high stone walls, built directly on the rocky slopes of the mountain. There are just a handful of people walking around like me in the morning, but in summer there must be more visitors.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

In the afternoon I go for another very lazy stroll and have a coffee in a nice café and take a picture of the water enclosed cistern after climbing to the highest part of the castle. It's a 10-second exposure, as it's very dark in the inside the water chamber and because I don't have my small tripod with me, I simply rest the camera on the steps at the entrance. It's a surprise to see the details as none of the details are visible to the naked eye.

10-second exposure
Heart 3 Comment 1
Scott AndersonI was wrong. I have read this journal before, but have a terrible memory. I remember this photo.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

At about 6:00 PM, when the light is good for photos, I stroll around some more, but the sun is too low and the alleys are in shade. 

The public park is now quiet. Earlier gardeners were busy trimming the hedges, no doubt getting the place ready for summer, and it's one of the few places still in sunshine.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0